Outstanding Mechanical Engineers - 2012

Each year the School of Mechanical Engineering at Purdue University recognizes alumni who have demonstrated excellence in industry, academia, governmental service, or other endeavors related to mechanical engineering. Honorees have shown outstanding character and leadership and have accomplished great things. Since 1991, 229 alumni have been honored with the prestigious Outstanding Mechanical Engineer Award.

The 2012 award recipients are truly exceptional. Among our awardees is an innovator of aerospace technology; a product development engineer and community spokesperson; an inventor and entrepreneur; an esteemed oncologist looking into cutting edge treatments and medical program director; a leading researcher in the automotive industry; an astronaut and aviator; an esteemed, beloved professor; and a rocket scientist and engineering team leader. Our award recipients also lend time and talent to their communities as well as to our nation. The following pages highlight individual accomplishments and personal reflections on their Purdue engineering education and professional experience.

The School of Mechanical Engineering is honored to recognize William W. Bower, Christine H. Hobbs, Stephen B. Katsaros, Patrick J. Loehrer, Scott M. Staley, Scott D. Tingle, Bu-Xuan Wang, and Marvin F. Young.

Congratulations to our 2012 Outstanding Mechanical Engineers


Anil K. Bajaj
William E. and Florence E. Perry Head and
Alpha P. Jamison Professor of Mechanical Engineering