Outstanding Mechanical Engineers - 2013

Each year the School of Mechanical Engineering at Purdue University recognizes alumni who have demonstrated excellence in industry, academia, governmental service, or other endeavors related to mechanical engineering. Honorees have shown outstanding character and leadership and have accomplished great things. Since 1991, 239 alumni have been honored with the prestigious Outstanding Mechanical Engineer Award.

The 2013 award recipients are truly exceptional. Among our awardees is a former Lieutenant Governor and longtime advocate for the disabled; a pioneer in air conditioning and refrigeration research; an entrepreneurial and innovative engineer; an expert in production system optimization and employee relations; a proven leader driving innovation in aerospace and defense; a professor who is one of the world’s leading authorities in his field; a beloved professor emeritus who is one of the foremost experts in his field and who trained another of tonight’s recipients; an engineer with a knack for leadership and sales development; and a leader skilled in both aeronautical and mechanical engineering. Our award recipients also lend time and talent to their communities as well as to our nation. The following pages highlight individual accomplishments and personal reflections on their Purdue engineering education and professional experience.

The School of Mechanical Engineering is honored to recognize John H. Hager, Anthony M. Jacobi, Joseph M. Johnson, Roman J. Krygier, Jr., Richard G. Kyle, Rajendra Singh, Werner Soedel, James N. Suciu, and Dennis E. Warner.

Congratulations to our 2013 Outstanding Mechanical Engineers


Anil K. Bajaj
William E. and Florence E. Perry Head and
Alpha P. Jamison Professor of Mechanical Engineering