H.H. Gregg Professor of Oncology, Director of the Indiana University Melvin and Bren Simon Cancer Center, and Associate Dean for Cancer Research
Indiana University School of Medicine
BSME ’75

““There are three sides to every story:  Yours, mine, and the truth.” - Marian C. Loehrer”

Patrick J. Loehrer is the Director of the Indiana University Melvin and Bren Simon Cancer Center, the H.H. Gregg Professor of Oncology and Associate Dean of Cancer Research at Indiana University School of Medicine. He graduated from Purdue University in 1975 with a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering. In 1978, Dr. Loehrer graduated from Rush Medical College. He completed his internship and residency at Rush-Presbyterian St. Luke’s Medical Center in Internal Medicine and his fellowship at the Indiana University Medical Center in Oncology.

During his fellowship, he carried out an appointment as an assistant professor in the Indiana University Department of Medicine. He has taught at the university since 1983 in various capacities, including Director of the Division of Hematology/Oncology, and as the Kenneth Wiseman Professor of Medicine. In March 2010, he was named Associate Dean for Cancer Research, H.H. Gregg Professor of Oncology, and Director of the Melvin and Bren Simon Cancer Center. He has served appointments at Wishard Memorial Hospital and the Indianapolis Veterans Administration Hospital since 1983. In 2007, he began an additional appointment at Clarian North Medical Center.

He most recently has served on the Statewide Clinical Trials Network of Texas Board of Directors and continues to serve on several other medical advisory boards. Dr. Loehrer is a member of the American Cancer Society, the American Federation for Clinical Research, the American Society of Clinical Oncology, the Indiana Medical Oncology Society, the Indiana State Radiation Therapy Association, the Marion County Medical Society, the Central Society for Clinical Research, the Indianapolis Medical Society, and the Association of Community Cancer Centers. He is also a fellow of the America College of Physicians.

He was recognized with the Glenn W. Irwin, Jr., M.D. Experience Excellence Recognition Award in 1991, the Danielson Award for Clinical Cancer Research in 1999, the W. George Pinnell Award in 2003, the American Society of Clinical Oncology Statesman Award and the Dr. Harold Burdette Award in 2008, and was honored as part of the 2012 Purdue University Old Masters program.