Stuart Bolton recognized for noise control and acoustics

J. Stuart Bolton, professor of mechanical engineering, has received the Per Bruel Gold Medal for Noise Control and Acoustics from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME).


Bolton received his BASc in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Toronto and his MSc and Ph.D. degrees from Southampton University’s Institute of Sound and Vibration Research (I.S.V.R.). In 1984, Professor Bolton joined the faculty of the School of Mechanical Engineering at Purdue University as an Assistant Professor. He is now a Full Professor and performs his research at Purdue University’s Ray W. Herrick Laboratories. Since joining Purdue University, Dr. Bolton has maintained an active research program in Noise Control and related disciplines. His research areas include: analytical and numerical modeling of poroelastic materials, microperforated materials and metamaterials; development of experimental techniques for characterizing noise control materials; optimal design of noise control materials and treatments; development of acoustical measurement and signal processing techniques including sound field visualization techniques such as Nearfield Acoustical Holography; wave propagation, focusing on tire vibration and sound radiation; and machinery noise control with an emphasis on fan noise. Since joining Purdue, Dr. Bolton has published more than 100 archival journal articles, has made more than 200 conference presentations, and has supervised more than 100 graduate students, including 33 PhD students.  He is also active in the Acoustical Society of America, Institute of Noise Control Engineering, and Society of Automotive Engineers.

The Per Bruel Gold Medal is the ASME's highest honor in noise control and acoustics, recognizing recipients for "seminal and far-reaching contributions to the field of acoustics and noise control engineering through research, education, service to the technical community and industrial engagement."  Bolton is the fourth Purdue faculty/alumnus to win the award in the last 13 years, joining Jerry Ginsberg (2007), Patricia Davies (2016), and Malcolm Crocker (2017).