The Hawkins Memorial Lecture

Bioheat Transfer and Biopreservation

Dr. John Bischof, Departments of Mechanical and Biomedical Engineering, University of Minnesota

Thursday, October 28, 2021

Poster Show & Reception:  2:00-3:00 p.m. Gatewood Atrium in ME Building
Lecture: 3:30 p.m. Burton Morgan Center 121

Abstract: This talk will introduce a new National Science Foundation Engineering Research Center (ERC) for Advanced Technologies for the Preservation of Biological Systems (ATP-Bio) that aims to “stop biological time” and radically extend the ability to bank and transport cells, aquatic embryos, tissue, skin, whole organs, microphysiological systems (“organs-on-a-chip”), and even whole organisms through a team approach to build advanced biopreservation technologies. New capabilities in cell, tissue, organ, and organismal cryopreservation (including zebrafish and drosophila embryos) will be presented. We also aim to build a more robust and diverse STEM workforce, especially in the growing number of fields needing biopreservation technologies, promoting and delivering equitable and inclusive STEM education from middle school to graduate school and beyond. The Center has numerous partnerships with for-profit and non-profit organizations aim to commercialize ATP-Bio technology, drive new biopreservation research, and contribute to the workforce development and culture of inclusion goals of the Center. Unique among ERCs, ATP-Bio also focuses extensively on ethical and public policy considerations around biopreservation so that ATP-Bio’s technology can be effectively translated to public benefit. In summary, this talk demonstrates the growing opportunities for societal impact through use of innovations that improve biopreservation.

Biography: Dr. Bischof works in the area of thermal bioengineering with a focus on biopreservation, thermal therapy, and nanomedicine. His awards include the ASME Van Mow Medal and Fellowships in societies including Cryobiology, JSPS, ASME and AIMBE. He has served as the President of the Society for Cryobiology and Chair of the Bioengineering Division of the ASME. Bischof obtained a B.S. in Bioengineering from U.C. Berkeley (UCB) in 1987, an M.S. from UCB and U.C. San Francisco in 1989, and a Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from UCB in 1992. After a Post-doctoral Fellowship at Harvard in the Center for Engineering in Medicine, he joined the faculty of the University of Minnesota in 1993. Bischof is now a Distinguished McKnight University Professor and Kuhrmeyer Chair in the Departments of Mechanical and Biomedical Engineering, the Medtronic- Bakken Endowed Chair and Director of the Institute for Engineering in Medicine at the University of Minnesota, and Director of the new NSF Engineering Research Center ATP-Bio.

History of the Hawkins Lecture

This annual lecture series was established in 1984 to honor the memory of George A. Hawkins, former Dean of the Schools of Engineering. Renowned for his many contributions as a teacher, researcher, and administrator, he retained a strong commitment to heat transfer and was instrumental in establishing Purdue’s eminence in the field. The lecture provides an opportunity for a leader in heat transfer research to present topics of broad interest to the University community. This series is supported by an endowment created with gifts from the Heat Transfer Area faculty at Purdue.

George A. Hawkins was born in Denver, Colorado in 1907. He attended the Colorado School of Mines and the University of Denver before coming to Purdue where he received three degrees. Dr. Hawkins earned his Ph.D. in 1935 and began an academic career that spanned 41 years. Promoted to Professor of Mechanical Engineering in 1942, he was Dean of the Schools of Engineering from 1953 to 1967 and Vice President of Academic Affairs from 1967 until his retirement in 1971. In addition to his administrative duties, he continued with technical pursuits, writing several textbooks and more than 150 papers and articles dealing with heat transfer, thermodynamics, and other engineering areas.

For his technical, professional, and administrative contributions, he received many honors, including election as member of the National Academy of Engineering, Life Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), Fellow of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE), and Honorary Member of the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE). He received the ASME/Pi Tau Sigma Gold Medal in 1940. As dean, he was instrumental in effecting major changes in engineering education throughout the U.S., and was awarded the ASEE Medal for Distinguished and Meritorious Service in 1968. He was named National President of ASEE in 1970.

One of his strongest professional commitments was to the subject of heat transfer, and he had an important influence on establishing Purdue as a world leader in this area. In the 1930s and 1940s, he was, with William McAdams on the East Coast, M. Jakob in the Midwest, and L.M.K. Boelter on the West Coast, a major force in promoting the transition of heat transfer from an engineering art to a modern form of engineering strongly based on scientific fundamentals. His early work as a pioneer of heat transfer is well-documented. His program flourished, producing many outstanding graduate students who have enjoyed successful careers in industry, academia, and government.

Following his retirement in 1971, Dr. Hawkins continued to be active until his death in 1978.

Past Speakers

2021  John Bischof, University of Minnesota
2021  Cristina Amon, University of Toronto
2019  Cynthia Hipwell, Texas A&M University
2018  Costas P. Grigoropoulos, University of California Berkeley
2017  Mehmet Toner, Harvard Medical School (photo)
2016  Suhas V. Patankar, University of Minnesota
2015  Kenneth E. Goodson, Stanford University
2014  Jean-Jacques Greffet, Institute Optique Palaiseau-France
2013  Jayathi Murthy, Purdue University
2012  Gang Chen, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2011  Chung K. Law, Princeton University
2010  Arun Majumdar, U.S. Department of Energy
2009  Mamoru Ishii, School of Nuclear Engineering, Purdue University
2008  Paul Hommert, California Laboratories and Homeland Security & Defense Strategic Management Unit, Sandia National Laboratories
2007  Richard O. Buckius, National Science Foundation and University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2006  Yogesh Jaluria, Rutgers University
2005  Massoud Kaviany, University of Michigan - Ann Arbor
2004  Dimos Poulikakos, ETH Zurich
2003  John H. Sununu, JHS Associates, Ltd.
2002  Kenneth R. Diller, University of Texas - Austin
2001  Martin C. Jischke, Purdue University
2000  Robert G. Watts, Tulane University
1999  Vijay K. Dhir, University of California - Los Angeles
1998  David P. DeWitt, Purdue University
1997  Boris Rubinsky, University of California - Berkeley
1996  Frank P. Incropera, Purdue University
1995  John R. Howell, University of Texas - Austin
1994  Julian Szekely, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1993  Robert Siegel, NASA Lewis Research Center
1992  Richard C. Chu, International Business Machines Corporation
1991  R. J. Goldstein, University of Minnesota
1990  Raymond Viskanta, Purdue University
1989  Franz Mayinger, Technische Universität München
1988  Wataru Nakayama, Hitachi, Ltd.
1987  Chang-Lin Tien, University of California - Berkeley
1986  Arthur E. Bergles, Iowa State University
1985  E. M. Sparrow, University of Minnesota