Pavlos Vlachos receives named professorship

Pavlos Vlachos, professor of mechanical engineering, has been named the St. Vincent Health Professor of Healthcare Engineering in the Regenstrief Center for Healthcare Engineering.


Prof. Vlachos brings considerable expertise and leadership in healthcare engineering and delivery to this role.  From 2018 to 2019, Pavlos served as a President’s Fellow in the Office of the Executive Vice President for Research and Partnerships (EVPRP), where he worked to develop interdisciplinary research opportunities in health and life sciences. He is internationally recognized for his leading research in biofluids and biomechanics, specializing in measurement science and non-invasive diagnostics for biomedical and clinical applications. His work has been funded by diverse agencies from NIH, NSF, DOD and industry. Currently, he is the co-leader of the $7 million a year Injectable Biologics initiative supported by Eli Lilly and Company. He has received numerous awards recognizing his excellence in teaching and research, and serves as the associate editor for the International Journal of Multi-Phase Flows. Vlachos has published 150 journal papers, 129 peer-reviewed conference papers and 159 conference extended or short abstracts. He has eight patents, five of which are licensed to companies, and 31 intellectual property disclosures. His honors include being named a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers in 2020 and a University Faculty Fellow at Purdue in 2015, among others.

In February 2021, he was named director of the Regenstrief Center for Healthcare Engineering (RCHE). Established in 2005 by a gift from the Regenstrief Foundation and located in Discovery Park, RCHE brings together researchers and practitioners from multiple disciplines to collaboratively improve healthcare delivery and empower individuals to live their highest quality of life, focusing on three strategic areas: health analytics, capacity management, and rural/global health.

Read the full announcement from Purdue's Board of Trustees.