Purdue excels at ITherm conference

Purdue was well-represented at ITherm 2023, winning three paper awards and four poster awards. The Intersociety Conference on Thermal and Thermomechanical Phenomena in Electronic Systems was held in Orlando, FL in June 2023.


Sponsored by the IEEE’s Electronics Packaging Society (EPS), ITherm 2023 is an international conference for scientific and engineering exploration of thermal, thermomechanical and emerging technology issues associated with electronic devices, packages and systems. At this year's event, Purdue faculty were very involved in the conference organization: Amy Marconnet was the vice program chair for the conference, and Justin Weibel (a past general chair) was also involved in organizing the conference keynotes. Neera Jain and Tiwei Wei served as session chairs.

Purdue students won the following awards for scientific papers:

  • Prof. Avram Bar-Cohen Best Paper Award in the Mechanics and Reliability Track: Pranay P. Nagrani, Ritwik V. Kulkarni & Amy M. Marconnet (Purdue University). “Influence of Thermal Cycling on Degradation Behavior of Thermal Greases”
  • Best Paper Runner-Up Award in the Mechanics and Reliability Track: Sai Sanjit Ganti and Ganesh Subbarayan (Purdue University). “Multiscale, Non-Intrusive Computational Framework for Analyzing Rate-Dependent Deformation of Solder Joints”
  • Prof. Avram Bar-Cohen Best Paper Award in the Emerging Technologies and Fundamentals Track: Qian Qian (Purdue University), Xin Zhang (IBM Research), Shurong Tian (IBM Research), Justin A. Weibel (Purdue University), Liang Pan (Purdue University). “Experimental investigation of ultra-thin microchannel oscillating heat pipes with submillimeter-scale thickness"

These posters were also recognized with awards:

  • Best Poster in the System Level Thermal Management Track: Falak Mandali, Purdue University (Prof. Neera Jain). “Control Co-Design of a Thermal Management System with Integrated Latent Thermal Energy Storage and a Logic-based Controller”
  • Outstanding Poster in the Mechanics & Reliability Track: Ritwik Vijaykumar Kulkarni, Purdue University (Prof. Amy Marconnet). “In situ Optical Observations of Degradation of Thermal Greases with Thermal Cycling”
  • Best Poster in the Mechanics & Reliability Track: Pranay Nagrani, Purdue University (Prof. Amy Marconnet). “Influence of Thermal Cycling on Degradation Behavior of Thermal Greases”
  • Outstanding Poster in the Emerging Technologies & Fundamentals track: Aalok Gaitonde, Purdue University (Prof. Justin Weibel, Prof. Amy Marconnet). “Feasibility Assessment of Metrologies for Thermal Resistance Characterization of Deeply Buried Interfaces between Bonded Silicon Layers”

Ganesh Subbarayan along with his students and collaborators received the Best Paper Award in the Characterization & Modeling category for the year 2022 from the editors of IEEE Transactions on Components, Packaging and Manufacturing Technology. The paper was titled "A Mechanistic Model for Plastic Metal Line Ratcheting Induced BEOL Cracks in Molded Packages" and the authors were Chun-Pei Chen, Yaxiong Chen, Ganesh Subbarayan, Hung-Yun Lin, Siva Gurrum. The award was presented at the IEEE 73rd Electronic Components and Technology Conference (IEEE ECTC 2023) alongside which the annual IEEE ITherm conferences are held.