Faculty awards and honors

Purdue ME faculty continue to rack up awards and honors from some of the prestigious organizations in the world.

Kejie Zhao receives award from Society for Experimental Mechanics

Kejie Zhao, Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering, has been selected to receive the 2021 James W. Dally Young Investigator Award from the Society for Experimental Mechanics. The award recognizes seminal contributions to the forefront of electro-chemo-mechanics using well integrated in-situ experimental and theoretical mechanics.  Zhao's research focuses on the mechanics of particles at multiscale, especially those of lithium-ion batteries.

Peter Meckl now an ASME Fellow

Peter Meckl, Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Assistant Head for Facilities and Operations, has been selected to become a fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. ASME Fellows have at least 10 years active membership in ASME, and are shown to be responsible for significant engineering achievements.  For more than 30 years, Meckl has researched controls at Purdue ME.

Justin Weibel receives early career award

Justin Weibel, Research Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering, has been awarded the 2020 ASME EPPD Early Career Award, from the Electronic and Photonic Packaging Division (EPPD) of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. The award recognizes young engineers with significant technical achievements in the area of electronic and photonic packaging, demonstrated through papers, patents, or product development. Weibel studies heat transfer, and is the director of the Cooling Technologies Research Center at Purdue.

Luciano Castillo now an associate fellow of AIAA

Luciano Castillo, the Kenninger Professor of Renewable Energy and Power Systems in Mechanical Engineering, has been elected to the grade of Associate Fellow for the Class of 2021 in the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA). AIAA Associate Fellows are individuals of distinction who have made notable and valuable contributions to the arts, sciences, or technology of aeronautics or astronautics. Castillo studies renewable energy, especially the fluid mechanics of wind turbines.

Andrea Vacca receives new appointment

Andrea Vacca has been appointed the Maha Fluid Power Faculty Chair by Purdue University's Board of Trustees. Vacca has an accomplished record of scholarship and leadership in the area of hydraulic fluid power and industry engagement. He is the director of the Maha Fluid Power Research Center, the largest academic hydraulics lab in the country.

Arezoo Ardekani elected to executive committee

Arezoo Ardekani has been elected as a member-at-large of the Executive Committee for the American Physical Society Division of Fluid Dynamics. The annual APS DFD meeting draws over 3000 researchers from all over the world, with 40 parallel sessions on topics including multiphase and interfacial fluid dynamics, non-Newtonian and complex fluids, chemically reacting and compressible flows, turbulence, biologically relevant flows, micro- and nano-scale flows, and more. Ardekani has been honored by President Obama Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), an early career award from the National Science Foundation, and named a Purdue University Faculty Scholar.