1994 Distinguished Engineering Alumni

The 31st Annual Distinguished Engineering Alumni Convocation
Friday, April 22, 1994


There is something very special about Purdue engineers. Their reputation precedes them, and their accomplishments set them apart. The men and women who have earned the right to call themselves Distinguished Engineering Alumni include leaders in their profession, in business, industry, education, science, science, and government. They have founded corporations, built cities, and walked in space. They prove that a Purdue degree is only the beginning of a lifetime of education and high accomplishments.

Each year the Schools of Engineering look for graduates whose achievements are truly outstanding. There is never a shortage of qualified candidates. In recognizing them, Purdue reminds itself and its students that our standards must always be high and that the future is ours to build.

  Beering bust   Yang bust  
  Steven C. Beering
  Henry T. Yang
Dean of Engineering

We are honored to introduce the 1994 Distinguished Engineering Alumni. To highlight the outstanding accomplishments of these Purdue graduates as well as reflections on their experiences at Purdue and in the professional world. Through their leadership and achievements, these Distinguished Engineering Alumni bring esteem to themselves and to Purdue University.


Tony R. Brown
BSME '62, MSME `64, PhD `68

Lana M. Couch

Robert D. Hall
BSIE `70

Richard A. Hazleton
BSChE `64, MSChE '66

Harris L. Marcus
BSMetE '63

Robert A Meese
MSME `69, PhD `72

William B. Phillips
PhD `66

Jack A. Shaw
BSEE `62

Roy E. Wansik
BSCE `66, MSCE `67

William D. Young
BSChE `66