1998 Distinguished Engineering Alumni

The 35th Annual Distinguished Engineering Alumni Convocation
Friday, April 24, 1998

Reading the Citation
Raymond J. Cipra
Associate Professor
School of Mechanical Engineering
Steven C. Beering
President, Purdue University
Richard J. Schwartz
Dean, Schools of Engineering

There is something very special about Purdue Engineers. Their reputation precedes them, and their accomplishments set them apart. The men and women who have earned the right to call themselves Distinguished Engineering Alumni include leaders in their profession, in business, industry, education, science, and government. They have founded corporations, built cities, and traveled in space. They prove that a Purdue degree is only the beginning of a lifetime of education and high accomplishment.

Each year the Schools of Engineering look for graduates whose achievements are truly outstanding. There is never a shortage of qualified candidates. In recognizing them, Purdue reminds itself and its students that our standards must always be high and that the future is ours to build.

  Steven Beering   Richard J. Schwartz  
  Beering Signature
Steven C. Beering
  Schwartz Signature
Richard J. Schwartz

We are delighted to introduce this year's Distinguished
Engineering Alumni. As the theme "Veni, Vidi, Vici" suggests,
these eleven achievers came to Purdue, saw opportunities, and conquered the challenges that lay before them. As they reminisce on their professional lives in the following pages, they offer us a glimpse into how and why they have become exemplars of the Purdue engineer. Their success gives us great pride.



Roy D. Bridges Jr.
National Aeronautics and Space Administration
MSAE '66

Christopher B. Burke
Christopher B. Burke Engineering Ltd.
BSCE '77, MSCE '79, Ph.D. '83

W. Michael Clevy
International Comfort Products Corporation
BSME '70

Michael L. Eskew
United Parcel Service
BSIE '72

Charles R. Kline
EQUATE Petrochemicals (Kuwait)
BSChE '61

Michael J. McCulley
United Space Alliance
BSMetE '70, MSMetE '70

Michael T. Riordan
Fort James Corporation
BSIE '72

Thomas J. Sheehan Jr.
Delco Electronics Corporation
BSEE '64, MSEE '65

William E. Smith III
Eli Lilly & Company
BSChE '69

Suwat Liptapanlop
Member of Parliament (Thailand)
MSCE '77

Stephen J. Zelencik
Advanced Micro Devices
BSEE '60