Academic Affairs

Helping Faculty Excel

The people of Purdue’s College of Engineering do amazing things. Some are leading campus-wide endeavors exploring everything from the very small (nanotechnology) to the very large (systems of systems). Others are integrating academic units and research centers. Still others are fostering novel interdisciplinary collaborations. Whatever your role, you play an important part in engineering the solutions to the grand challenges of the 21st century.

We in the Office of Academic Affairs are here to support and encourage you. It’s our job to maintain an outstanding culture and climate within the College of Engineering—one that enables faculty, staff and students to achieve and excel. From hiring and retention, to promotion and tenure, to reward and recognition, we work hard to ensure Purdue is the “university of choice” for the best in the engineering field.

Teaching for Tomorrow

The Office of the Provost is reaching out to solicit faculty applications for Purdue’s Teaching for Tomorrow Fellowship Program.  Teaching for Tomorrow is a program designed to facilitate conversation among teaching faculty at Purdue, grouping early career faculty members with experienced and dedicated senior mentors in a year-long development program.  Senior TfT mentors will work closely with junior fellows to craft a plan that will enable them to grow as educators.  Senior mentors receive $2,500 in professional development funds with an additional $2,500 department offset for the faculty member’s involvement in the program.  Applicants for the senior fellowship should hold the rank of Associate or Full Professor, or Clinical Associate or Clinical Full Professor.  Each junior TfT fellow will receive $1,500 in professional development funds.  Junior applicants must hold the rank of Assistant or Associate Professor, or Clinical Assistant or Clinical Associate Professor.

Applications will be accepted until February 16, 2016.

The application link and information about the program is can be found at

If you have any questions, please email us at

Helping Students Learn Award

Each year the Class of 1922 alumni sponsor an award for Outstanding Innovation in Helping Students Learn.  Faculty, administrative/professional staff, and graduate students are eligible for consideration for this $6,000 award. 

The information about this award, along with the cover sheet which must accompany nominations, can be found at, and a list of past recipients can be found at the Provost Website at

The deadline for submitting nominations for the Helping Students Learn Award is 5 pm, Friday, February 26, 2016.


January 15, 2016

Claridge receives NSF CAREER grant

Shelley Claridge, assistant professor of biomedical engineering and assistant professor of chemistry, has received a Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) grant from the National Science Foundation for her work titled, "Standing, Lying, and Sitting: Restructuring Intermolecular Forces in Molecular Monolayers and Freshman Chemistry."
January 14, 2016

Hunter receives NSF CAREER award

Susan Hunter, assistant professor of industrial engineering, has received a Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) grant from the National Science Foundation.
January 12, 2016

Jiao named IEEE Fellow

Dan Jiao, professor of electrical and computer engineering, has been named an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) fellow for 2016. She received the recognition for contributions to computational electromagnetics.
January 12, 2016

Hu named IEEE Fellow

Y. Charlie Hu, professor of electrical and computer engineering, has been named a 2016 Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) fellow. He is being recognized for his contributions to power modeling and energy management of mobile devices.
January 11, 2016

EE alum named IEEE fellow

Timothy Davis, BSEE '83, has been named a 2016 fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). Davis, of College Station, Texas, was recognized for his contributions to sparse matrix algorithms and software.
January 5, 2016

Purdue engineer receives top award from President Obama

Nancy Ho, founder and president of Green Tech America Inc. and a research professor emerita in Purdue University's School of Chemical Engineering, will receive the National Medal of Technology and Innovation from President Barack Obama.
December 11, 2015

Howell receives Haas award

Kathleen C. Howell, the Hsu Lo Distinguished Professor of Aeronautical and Astronautical Engineering, was honored at a reception Dec. 2, 2015 as the winner of the 2015 Violet Haas Award.
December 3, 2015

Harbin receives commercialization award

Sherry Harbin, professor of biomedical engineering and basic medical sciences, has been awarded the Outstanding Commercialization Award for Purdue University Faculty.
November 4, 2015

McMillan receives inaugural Haas fellowship

Sara McMillan, assistant professor of agricultural and biological engineering, has been named to receive the first Violet B. Haas Fellowship. The fellowship provides McMillan with $5,000 to support her research on green infrastructure in urban watersheds.
September 13, 2013

Fall 2013 New Faculty Reception Held September 6, 2013

Dean Leah H. Jamieson and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs Klod Kokini welcomed the new faculty to the College of Engineering at a reception held on Friday, September 6, 2013, in the Dunville Conference Room in Armstrong Hall.
April 11, 2013

Murphy Awards: Fred Mannering

Fred Mannering, the Charles Pankow Professor of Civil Engineering, is a recipient of the 2013 Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Awards in Memory of Charles B. Murphy. (Purdue University photo/Mark Simons)
Viewing 1 to 19 of 19