Five graduate students awarded NDSEG Fellowships

Students from AAE, CE, ME and ECE were among the 165 recipients.

Five graduate students in the College of Engineering were awarded National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate Fellowships.  

Among the 165 recipients were two students from the School of Aeronautics and Astronautics (Layton Howerton and Liam Robinson), one from the Lyles School of Civil Engineering (Lance Parson), one from the Elmore Family School of Electrical and Computer Engineering (David Nickel) and one from the School of Mechanical Engineering (Rebekah Travis).

Each awardee’s fellowship tenure is for three years and pays a $3,400 monthly stipend, full tuition and fees and a travel budget.

The Department of Defense program was established in 1989 and is sponsored by the Air Force Office of Scientific Research, the Army Research Office and the Office of Naval Research.