Purdue board honors Jamieson, ratifies new CoE dean

At its meeting on Friday, June 16, the Purdue Board of Trustees approved the appointment of Mung Chiang as the John A. Edwardson Dean of Engineering and the Roscoe H. George Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

Chiang succeeds Leah H. Jamieson as dean. The trustees also honored Jamieson, the John A. Edwardson Dean of Engineering and Ransburg Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, with a resolution of appreciation. Jamieson, who joined the Purdue faculty in 1976, will transition to full-time faculty duties in the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering on June 30 after serving as dean for 11 years.

Chiang, who was announced as Purdue’s next dean of the College of Engineering on May 1, assumes his new duties July 1. He was Princeton University’s Arthur LeGrand Doty Professor of Electrical Engineering, and is a world-renowned researcher in the fields of network optimization, network utility maximization, smart data pricing, and fog computing and networking.

Trustees also approved resolutions of appreciation for other administrators leaving their positions, including Debashish “Deba” Dutta, who has served as Purdue’s provost and executive vice president for academic affairs and diversity and a professor of mechanical engineering since 2014. He will leave Purdue on June 30 to become the chancellor of Rutgers University-New Brunswick.

The trustees also honored Mark J.T. Smith, dean of Purdue’s Graduate School since 2009, who will step down July 31 to join the University of Texas at Austin as dean of the Graduate School and senior vice provost for academic affairs. Smith came to Purdue in 2003 as head of the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

In addition, the board approved a resolution of appreciation for friends of the University who have contributed $1 million or more to Purdue. Those honored included are Bob and Ellie Shadley (faculty and student support in the School of Industrial Engineering), Jerry and Lynda Engelhardt (Lyles School of Civil Engineering), Jon Sommers (School of Mechanical Engineering), Jim and Linda Huff (student support in the College of Engineering) and Yoshimi Takeuchi (student support in the School of Mechanical Engineering).