Professor Emeritus Winthrop (Gus) Gustafson inducted into the Purdue Co-Op Hall of Fame

Professor Emeritus Winthrop A. (Gus) Gustafson was among six people who were inducted into the 2013 Co-Op Hall of Fame on September 27, 2013. Professor Gustafson was Co-Op Coordinator for the School of Aeronautics and Astronautics for 14 years (1984-1998).

Professor Gustafson came to Purdue in fall 1960 after working for the Lockheed Aircraft Corporation’s Missiles and Space Division as an associate research scientist in the areas of aerodynamics and high-speed gas dynamics. He received a BSAE in 1950, an MSAE in 1954, and a Ph.D. in 1956, all from the University of Illinois.

In addition to teaching in the aerodynamics area, he also taught the spacecraft section of the senior design course for approx. 10 years. Professor Gustafson served two terms as interim head and was named associate head by Dr. Yang on March 28, 1980. He continued in that role with Professors Grandt and Sullivan through 1995.

He played a key administrative role within the School and also performed the duties of undergraduate counselor and co-op coordinator. All undergraduate students during this period benefited directly from the dedicated concern and attention to detail. He also had a major influence on the graduate programs as he was responsible for teaching assistant and graduate student office assignments during much of this period.

Professor Gustafson won the E.F. Bruhn Teaching Award twice in 1980 and 1998, and was presented with the Dean M. Beverly Stone Award by the Omicron Delta Kappa National Leadership Honor Society in 1997.

He retired from his position as associate head and professor at Purdue University in June 1998 and received the Sagamore of the Wabash Award from Indiana Governor Frank O'Bannon in August 1998.

The Purdue University Book of Great Teachers was dedicated in April 1999 and Professor Gustafson was selected as a former faculty member to be honored.

The W.A. Gustafson Teaching Award was established by the School of Aeronautics and Astronautics in 1997 to honor Professor Gustafson's distinguished career of teaching and service to the school. The following faculty are recipients of this prestigious award:

  • Michael Grant 2013
  • Kathleen Howell 2012
  • Arthur E. Frazho 2011
  • James M. Longuski 2010
  • Martin J. Corless 2009
  • Dominick Andrisani 2007
  • Arthur E. Frazho 2006
  • James M. Longuski 2005
  • Marc H. Williams 2004
  • Martin J. Corless 2003
  • Anastasios S. Lyrintzis   2002
  • William A. Crossley 2001
  • James M. Longuski 2000
  • William A. Crossley 1999
  • William A. Crossley 1998
  • Gregory A. Blaisdell 1997