CoE faculty named University Faculty Scholars

Six talented Purdue Engineering faculty members were recently recognized as University Faculty Scholars (UFS) in honor of their outstanding performance.

The following faculty were named to five-year terms that begin July 1, 2021:

Photo of Konstantina Nadia Gkritza
Konstantina (Nadia) Gkritza, Civil Engineering and Agricultural & Biological Engineering
Photo of Young L. Kim
Young Kim, Biomedical Engineering
Photo of Young-Hsiang Lu
Yung-Hsiang Lu, Electrical & Computer Engineering
Photo of Partha Mukherjee
Partha Mukherjee, Mechanical Engineering
Photo of Guillermo Paniagua
Guillermo Paniagua, Mechanical Engineering
Photo of Vijay Raghunathan
Vijay Raghunathan, Electrical & Computer Engineering

The UFS program, offered through the Office of the Provost, recognizes outstanding faculty at the West Lafayette campus who are on an accelerated path for academic distinction. Eligible faculty are full professors who have been in that rank for no more than five years at the time of designation and tenured associate professors. In addition to meeting university criteria, Engineering UFS nominees must demonstrate impact and evidence of the impact of their work, as well as a compelling vision of the potential impact of future activities, that is supported by external reference letters. Members of the Engineering Named Professorship Committee review nominations and make recommendations to the Dean of Engineering.

University Faculty Scholars are appointed for a nonrenewable five-year term and receive an annual $10,000 discretionary allocation.