Faculty Directory

Tenured/Tenure-Track Faculty

Alina Alexeenko
Associate Professor
Associate Professor; Ph.D., Penn State, 2003; computational rarefied gas dynamics, vacuum gas dynamics, direct simulation Monte Carlo techniques, microscale gas flows, coupled thermal-fluid analysis of microdevices, high-altitude aerothermodynamics.
ARMS 3231
(765) 496-1864
alexeenk@purdue.edu
William Anderson
Professor
2014 - Associate Head of Undergraduate Programs
Professor Ph.D. The Pennsylvania State University 1996. Chemical propulsion and design methodologies
ARMS 3207
(765) 496-2658
wanderso@purdue.edu
Dominick Andrisani
Associate Professor
Associate Professor; Ph.D., SUNY at Buffalo, 1979, Estimation, Control, Dynamics.
ARMS 3203
(765) 494-5135
andrisan@purdue.edu
Sally Bane
Assistant Professor
Assistant Professor; Ph.D. Caltech, 2010; Investigating the process of spark ignition of flammable mixtures and quantifying the risk of accidental explosions, especially as it relates to aircraft safety; wide range of topics in experimental fluid mechanics and reacting flow, including combustion of alternative fuels and flow control for improved flight.
ARMS 3219
(765) 494-9364
sbane@purdue.edu
Gregory Blaisdell
Professor
Professor; Ph.D., Stanford, 1991, computational fluid mechanics, transition and turbulence.
ARMS 3215
(765) 494-1490
blaisdel@purdue.edu
Weinong Chen
Reilly Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics & Materials Engineering
Aeronautics and Astronautics Associate Head for Graduate Education
Joint appointment with Materials Engineering
Professor; Ph.D., California Institute of Technology, 1995, Mechanical Response of Solids and Structures under Extreme Conditions, Microstructural Effects on Mechanical Behavior, Fatigue Behavior of Engineering Materials, Experimental Solid and Structural Mechanics.
ARMS 3323
(765) 494-1788
wchen@purdue.edu
Steven Collicott
Professor
Professor; Ph.D., Stanford, 1991, experimental fluid mechanics, low-gravity fluid dynamics, optical diagnostics, applied optics.
ARMS 3227
(765) 494-2339
collicott@purdue.edu
Martin Corless
Professor
Professor; Ph.D., Berkeley, 1984, dynamics, systems, control.
ARMS 3333
(765) 494-7411
corless@purdue.edu
William Crossley
Professor
Professor; Ph.D., Arizona State, 1995, optimal design methods, genetic algorithms and aerospace applications, aircraft and rotorcraft conceptual design, composite and smart structure design.
ARMS 3209
(765) 496-2872
crossley@purdue.edu
Daniel DeLaurentis
Professor
Professor; Ph.D., Georgia Institute of Technology, 1998; Design Methods, Aerospace Systems and Flight Vehicles; System-of-Systems.
ARMS 3225
(765) 494-0694
ddelaure@purdue.edu
James Doyle
Professor
Professor; Ph.D., Illinois, 1977, structural dynamics, experimental mechanics, inverse problems, wave propagation.
ARMS 3327
(765) 494-5145
jfdoyle@purdue.edu
Daniel Dumbacher
Professor of Practice
Professor of Practice, Systems of Systems
MS Business Administration, University of Alabama, 1984
BS Mechanical Engineering, Purdue University, 1981
ddumbach@purdue.edu
Arthur Frazho
Professor
Professor; Ph.D., Michigan, 1977, Control Systems.
ARMS 3201
(765) 494-5976
arthur.e.frazho.1@purdue.edu
Carolin Frueh
Assistant Professor
Assistant Professor; Ph.D. University of Bern, Switzerland, 2011; Space Situational Awareness (satellites, debris and near earth objects)
Armstrong Hall 3309
(765) 494-7436
cfrueh@purdue.edu
James Garrison
Associate Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics
Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering (by courtesy)
Associate Professor; Ph.D., University of Colorado at Boulder, 1997, Earth remote sensing, Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS), bistatic radar, signals of opportunity.
ARMS 3311
(765) 496-7482
jgarriso@purdue.edu
Alten Grandt
Distinguished Professor (formerly Raisbeck Distinguished Professor)
Former Raisbeck Engineering Distinguished Professor for Engineering and Technology Integration; Ph.D., Illinois, 1971, damage-tolerant structures and materials, fatigue and fracture, aging aircraft.
ARMS 3235
(765) 494-5141
alten.f.grandt.1@purdue.edu
Michael Grant
Assistant Professor
Assistant Professor; Ph.D. Georgia Institute of Technology, 2012; Hypersonic Aerodynamics, Atmospheric Flight Mechanics, Guidance Design, Trajectory Optimization, Multidisciplinary Design Optimization, Mission Design.
ARMS 3212
mjgrant@purdue.edu
Stephen Heister
Raisbeck Engineering Distinguished Professor for Engineering and Technology Integration
Director, Maurice J. Zucrow Laboratories
Raisbeck Engineering Distinguished Professor for Engineering and Technology Integration; Ph.D., UCLA, 1988, rocket propulsion, liquid propellant injection systems.
ARMS 3331
(765) 494-5126
stephen.d.heister.1@purdue.edu
Kathleen Howell
Distinguished Hsu Lo Professor of Aeronautical and Astronautical Engineering
Hsu Lo Professor of Aeronautical and Astronautical Engineering; Ph.D., Stanford, 1983, orbit mechanics, spacecraft dynamics, control; trajectory optimization.
ARMS 3233
(765) 494-5786
howell@purdue.edu
Inseok Hwang
Associate Professor
Associate Professor; Ph.D., Stanford University, 2004; hybrid system theory, information inference of complex dynamical systems, safety verification, and their application to the control of multiple-vehicle systems, especially air traffic surveillance and control.
ARMS 3211
(765) 494-0687
ihwang@purdue.edu
James Longuski
Professor
Professor, Ph.D., Michigan, 1979, spacecraft dynamics, orbit mechanics, control, orbit decay and reentry.
ARMS 3220
(765) 494-5139
james.m.longuski.1@purdue.edu
Sergey Macheret
Professor
Professor; Ph.D., Kurchatov Institute of Atomic Energy, 1985; plasmas and electric discharges, plasma actuators for active aerodynamic control, microplasmas, plasma RF antennas and switches, nonequilibrium and rarefied gas dynamics, molecular and atomic processes in high-enthalpy gases and plasmas.
ARMS 3207
(765) 494-5143
macheret@purdue.edu
Karen Marais
Associate Professor
Associate Professor; Ph.D. Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 2005, safety and risk analysis, financial modeling of engineering systems, environmental impacts of technology.
ARMS 3225
(765) 494-0063
kmarais@purdue.edu
R Byron Pipes
John L. Bray Distinguished Professor of Engineering
Joint appointment with Chemical Engineering & Materials Engineering
John L. Bray Distinguished Professor of Engineering; Ph.D., University of Texas, 1972; application of nanotechnology to engineering disciplines including aerospace, composite materials, and polymer science and engineering.
MSEE 308B
(765) 494-5767
bpipes@purdue.edu
Timothée Pourpoint
Associate Professor
Associate Professor, Ph.D., Purdue University, 2005; aerospace propulsion systems, rocket engine combustors, liquid propellant injection systems, hypergolic propellants, high pressure and hydrogen storage systems.
Chaffee Hall, Room 116
(765) 494-9423
timothee@purdue.edu
Li Qiao
Associate Professor
Associate Professor; Ph.D., University of Michigan, 2007; Combustion and propulsion (low and high speed), experimental flow dynamics, micro-scale power generation, alternative fuels, fire research, environmental impact of combustion.
ARMS 3221
(765) 494-2040
lqiao@purdue.edu
Michael Sangid
Assistant Professor
Assistant Professor; Ph.D. University of Illinois Champaign-Urbana, 2010; multi-scale approach to understanding grain boundary effects on crack initiation; heterogeneous deformation of materials and fatigue crack growth testing and modeling of new and emerging materials
ARMS 3329
(765) 494-0146
msangid@purdue.edu
Steven Schneider
Professor
Professor; Ph.D., Caltech, 1989. Focuses on hypersonic and supersonic laminar-turbulent transition. Experimental research includes the development of the Boeing/AFOSR Mach-6 Quiet Tunnel and associate instrumentation.
Room 13C AERO (Hangar 3)
(765) 494-3343
steves@purdue.edu
Tom Shih
Professor and Head of Aeronautics and Astronautics
Professor and AAE Head; Ph.D., The University of Michigan, 1981, mathematical modeling of fluid mechanics, heat transfer, aerodynamics, and combustion problems.
ARMS 3317
(765) 494-3006
tomshih@purdue.edu
John Sullivan
Professor
Professor; Sc.D., MIT, 1973, experimental aerodynamics laser instrumentation, luminescent sensors for temperature and pressure measurements.
ARMS 3229
(765) 494-0776
john.p.sullivan.1@purdue.edu
Chin-Teh Sun
Neil A. Armstrong Distinguished Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics
Neil A. Armstrong Distinguished Professor; Ph.D., Northwestern, 1967, composites, fracture and fatigue, structural dynamics, smart materials and structures.
ARMS 3335
(765) 494-5130
sun@purdue.edu
Dengfeng Sun
Associate Professor
Associate Professor; Ph.D., University of California at Berkeley, 2008; modeling, simulation and optimization of large scale networked systems, control and optimization, studies for National Airspace Systems, air traffic control, intelligent transportation systems
ARMS 3217
(765) 494-5718
dsun@purdue.edu
Vikas Tomar
Associate Professor
Associate Professor; PhD Georgia Tech-December 2005; Microstructure Dependent Fracture and Fatigue Failure of Materials, Multifunctional Materials and Systems, Bio-inspired and Bio-enabled Materials, Nanomechanical Raman Spectroscopy, Spectral Tomography
ARMS 3205
(765) 494-3423
vikas.tomar.1@purdue.edu
Haifeng Wang
Assistant Professor
Assistant Professor; Ph.D. Cornell University, 2010; Turbulence and combustion modeling; Computational fluid dynamics; High-performance computing;
ARMS 3214
(765) 494-4093
haifeng@purdue.edu
Wenbin Yu
Associate Professor
PhD, Georgia Tech, 2002. Technical area: structural mechanics and micromechanics; application area: advanced structures and materials
ARMS 3321
(765) 494-5142
wenbinyu@purdue.edu

Courtesy Faculty

Barrett Caldwell (By Courtesy)
Professor Of Industrial Engineering
Professor of Industrial Engineering; Ph.D., University of California-Davis, 1990; Human factors engineering; Distributed human supervisory control; Team coordination and performance using information technology
GRIS 228D; CIVL G175
(765) 494-5412
bscaldwell@purdue.edu
Timothy Fisher (By Courtesy)
James G. Dwyer Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Professor of Mechanical Engineering; Ph.D., Cornell University, 1998; Heat Transfer, Nanotechnology
(765) 494-5627
tsfisher@purdue.edu
Jay Gore (By Courtesy)
Reilly University Chair Professor of Engineering and Jefferson Science and Technology Fellow with S/SRGIA - Special Representative for Global Intergovernmental Affairs at the U.S. State Department
Vincent P. Reilly Professor of Mechanical Engineering; Ph.D., The Pennsylvania State University, 1986, combustion, turbulent reacting flows and pollutant reduction, radiation heat transfer, biomedical heat transfer and fluid flows.
Chaffee Hall, Maurice J. Zucrow Laboratories (Mechanical Engineering)
(765) 494-1501
gore@purdue.edu
Nicole Key (By Courtesy)
Associate Professor Of Mechanical Engineering
Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering; Ph.D., Purdue University, 2007; Aerothermal aspects of turbomachinery, Axial and radial compressor performance, Experimental methods in fluid mechanics
ZUCR 126, ME 2149
(765) 494-2333
nkey@purdue.edu
Steven Landry (By Courtesy)
Associate Head and Associate Professor
Associate Head and Associate Professor of Industrial Engineering; Ph.D., Georgia Tech, 2004
328
(765) 494-6256
slandry@purdue.edu
Robert Lucht (By Courtesy)
Ralph and Bettye Bailey Professor of Combustion in Mechanical Engineering
Ralph and Bettye Bailey Professor of Combustion in Mechanical Engineering; Ph.D., Purdue 1981, Laser diagnostics, Diode-laser-based sensors, Gas turbine and internal engine combustion, Materials processing and synthesis, Combustion science, Fluid mechanics and heat transfer.
(765) 494-5623
lucht@purdue.edu
Henry Melosh (By Courtesy)
Distinguished Professor EAS/Physics
Distinguished Professor EAS/Physics, Ph.D. Caltech 1972, Ramifications of impact cratering, Planetary Tectonics, Physics of earthquakes and landslides
CIVL 3237
(765) 494-3290
jmelosh@purdue.edu
David Minton (By Courtesy)
Assistant Professor of Earth, Atmospheric and Planetary Science
Assistant Professor of Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences; Ph.D., University of Arizona, 2009
daminton@purdue.edu
Steven Son (by courtesy)
Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering; Ph.D., University of Illinois, 1993; Multiphase combustion, particularly related to propellants, explosives, and pyrotechnics; Nanoscale composite energetic materials; Advanced energetic materials; Microscale combustion.
130 Chaffee Hall, Zucrow Labs
sson@purdue.edu

Visiting Faculty

Johnathan Goodsell
Visiting Assistant Professor
ARMS 3153
jgoodsell@purdue.edu
David Wolf
Visiting Professor
wolf67@purdue.edu

Adjunct Faculty

David Filmer
Adjunct Professor of Aeronautics & Astronautics
Adjunct Professor; Ph.D., Wisconsin, 1961, satellite design, ground station design for acquisition of satellite data
ARMS 3223
(765) 496-6936
filmer@purdue.edu
P.K. Imbrie
Director, Undergraduate Academic Programs
Dwight Look College of Engineering
Texas A&M University
Adjunct Associate Professor; Ph.D., Texas A & M, 2000, Piezo-spectroscopy, Thermal Barrier Coatings, Constitutive modeling, Experimental Mechanics.
ARMS 1333
(765) 496-7225
imbrie@purdue.edu
Anastasios Lyrintzis
Distinguished Professor and Chair
Department of Aerospace Engineering
Embry-Riddle, Daytona Beach, FL
Adjunct Professor; Ph.D., Cornell, 1988, computational aeroacoustics, aerodynamics, with applications to rotorcraft and jet flows.
ARMS 3321
(765) 494-5142
lyrintzi@purdue.edu
Belinda Marchand
Adjunct Associate Professor
Ph.D. Purdue University, 2007
marchand@purdue.edu
John Rusek
Research Director, Swift Enterprises, Ltd.
Adjunct Assistant Professor; Ph.D., Case Western Reserve, 1983, Propulsion, Energy Conversion, Power Generation.
rusek@purdue.edu
Boris Yendler
Adjunct Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics
Adjunct Professor; Ph.D. Leningrad State University, USSR; Thermal Management for space applications, conventional and advanced heat pipes, modeling techniques and new materials (composites, adhesive, etc.) used for thermal management; Propulsion Systems
byendler@purdue.edu
Kirk Yerkes
Energy Science and Integration Research Advisor
Energy, Power, Thermal Division, Propulsion Directorate, Air Force Research Laboratory
Adjunct Professor; Ph.D., University of Dayton, 1994
 

Emeritus Faculty

John Drake
Professor Emeritus
drake@purdue.edu
Winthrop Gustafson
Professor Emeritus
gustafso@purdue.edu
Czeslaw Kentzer
Professor Emeritus
 
Francis Marshall
Professor Emeritus
 
Charles Merkle
Professor Emeritus, Reilly Professor of Engineering
Joint appointment with Mechanical Engineering
Professor Emeritus; Reilly Professor of Engineering; Ph.D., Princeton University, 1969, Computational Fluid Dynamics and Mechanics, Two Phase Flows, Propulsion Components and Systems
merkle@purdue.edu
George Palmer
Professor Emeritus
palmer@purdue.edu
Terrence Weisshaar
Professor Emeritus
Professor Emeritus; Ph.D., Stanford, 1971, aircraft structural mechanics, aeroelasticity, integrated design.
(765) 494-5975
weisshaar@purdue.edu
Marc Williams
Professor Emeritus
Professor Emeritus; Ph.D., Princeton, 1975, aerodynamics, computational fluid mechanics.
ARMS 3301
(765) 494-5137
wiliams@purdue.edu