College of Engineering 2007 Faculty Awards of Excellence

The Faculty Awards of Excellence was initiated in 2002 to honor outstanding faculty. The Award recognizes, encourages and promotes outstanding contributions of faculty within the College of Engineering at Purdue.

The Leadership Award

The School of Aeronautics and Astronautics is proud to announce the recipient of the Leadership Award is Dr. Anastasios S. Lyrintzis (top) who was nominated by head of school Dr. Thomas N. Farris.  The Leadership Award recognizes excellence in promoting a diverse and inclusive climate within the college.

At the Awards banquet held on April 28, 2007, held in the Shively Stadium Club in the Ross Ade Stadium, Dr. Lyrintzis was presented with a plaque from Dr. Leah H. Jamieson, John A Edwardson Dean of Engineering.

 Dean A.A Potter Award

Also at the same awards ceremony, the prestigious and long-standing Dean A. A. Potter Best of Engineering Award was presented to Dr. William A. Crossley (bottom) for excellence in teaching.

This award is presented to the most outstanding teacher in the entire College of Engineering and honors exemplary undergraduate teaching in all phases of the college’s program on the West Lafayette campus.

This brings the total of seven awards for teaching excellence to Bill – the most of any faculty member in the School of Aeronautics & Astronautics. Congratulations to Bill for a very well deserved award.