CE faculty, students earn awards from Water Resources Research

Papers published by faculty, a PhD student, and grad students in the Lyles School of Civil Engineering have garnered Editors’ Choice awards from the scientific journal Water Resources Research.

The Editors’ Choice Awards were instituted in 2011 and are only given to about one percent of published articles in any calendar year.

CE faculty David Yu and Venkatesh Merwade, together with graduate students Nikhil Sangwan, Kyungmin Sung and others were recognized for their paper titled, “Incorporating institutions and collective action into a socio-hydrological model of flood resilience.”

Also, a paper published by PHD student Soohyun Yang, who is mainly supervised by Suresh Rao, a CE professor and the Lee A. Rieth Distinguished Professor of Environmental Engineering, was recognized for her paper titled, “Functional topology of evolving drainage networks.”

Yang also receives supervision from Gavan McGrath, a professor in Australia and Ireland, and Kyungrock Paik, professor at Korea University and a former Curtis Visiting Professor at Purdue.

The award selections are made by the editors of the journal based on technical significance, novelty, originality, presentation, and broader implications of the publication.

David Yu
Venkatesh Merwade
Nikhil Sangwan
Kyungmin Sung
Soohyun Yang