2021 Staff Awards of Excellence Recipients

The 2021 recipients of the Awards of Excellence for engineering staff, shown below, were recognized at the annual Staff Awards Banquet on December 10, 2021.


Curt Oechsle
First Year Engineering Advising, Engineering Education

For his exceptional skills and consummate professionalism in advising a wide variety of students, earning him multiple awards.


Melissa Westendorf
Business Office, CEM, EEE, GEPP, In-MaC, CMSC, IACMI

For her exemplary skills in providing business support for multiple colleges, departments and centers, always with a positive and professional attitude.

Leah H. Jamieson Leadership Award

William Schoenlein
Preclinical Studies, Weldon School of Biomedical Engineering

For exemplifying leadership by leading large-scale, preclinical trials with Cook Biotech and other external stakeholders, training other members to grow in their expertise in managing these trials, and serving as an accessible resource for all faculty, especially for those starting their labs.

New Employee Award

Francisco Montalvo
Global Projects, Office of Professional Practice

For his skill in developing new programs in collaboration with global university partners to provide experiential learning opportunities for students, and navigating the challenges posed by COVID-19 for students studying abroad.

Professional Achievement Award

Maeve Drummond Oakes

For her exceptional leadership in strategic planning and implementation of core CISTAR educational programs, while taking on additional responsibilities within CISTAR's Engineering Workforce Development (EWD) Pillar that led to record participation.

Professional and Management Customer Service Award

Lori Pence
Student Success, College of Engineering

For her expertise in providing solutions to myriad financial challenges facing students and their families related to college affordability through honest, intentional and informative conversations.

Research Staff Excellence Award

Karin (Kaisa) Ejendal
Multiple Laboratories, Weldon School of Biomedical Engineering

For her enormous, positive impact on a variety of research groups in the Weldon School of Biomedical Engineering and her excellent mentoring of graduate students.

Support and Customer Service Award

Michelle Moody
Maurice J. Zucrow Laboratories, Mechanical Engineering

For her exceptional level of professionalism in providing services to students, faculty and staff at the Maurice J. Zucrow Laboratories, including training students and staff on the safe use of equipment.

Team Award: CE, ECE and ME Online MS Staff Team

CE, ECE and ME Online MS Staff Team

CE, ECE and ME Online MS Staff Team
Debra Bowman (Electrical and Computer Engineering)
Matt Golden (Electrical and Computer Engineering)
Xiaomin Qian (Mechanical Engineering)
Cathy Elwell (Mechanical Engineering)
Stacy Lane (Civil Engineering)
Elisheba VanWinkle (Electrical and Computer Engineering)
Lynn Hegewald (Electrical and Computer Engineering)
Jennifer Ricksy (Civil Engineering)
Sheri Tague (Mechanical Engineering)

For the collaborative team's hard work, dedication, initiative and innovation that was instrumental in the successful implementation of the online Master's degrees programs launched in the College of Engineering.