2008 Electrical and Computer Engineering Awards

I am pleased to introduce the 2008 Outstanding Electrical and Computer Engineers. This year's honorees represent alumni whom have distinguished themselves as pioneers and explorers in their fields. Joining the notable ranks of past award winners, this year's "class" represents the very best in electrical and computer engineers, a group Purdue is proud to call its own. Please join me in congratulating the 2008 OECE's as we proudly present them with this honor.

Leah H. Jamieson
John A. Edwardson Dean of Engineering
Ransburg Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering

It is an honor to introduce the Outstanding Electrical and Computer Engineers for 2008, six individuals who join an esteemed group of previous recipients. These distinguished alumni represent the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering with pride as their work advances the engineering profession and leaves a lasting mark.

In the pages that follow, you'll read each recipient's discoveries and contributions to society - accomplishments that embody the spirit of ECE while inspiring tomorrow's electrical and computer engineers. We applaud this year's honorees.

Mark J. T. Smith
Michael J. and Katherine R. Birck Professor and Head, Electrical and Computer Engineering