Prospective Faculty

Extraordinary faculty are at the heart of everything Purdue Engineering does, and new ECE faculty members experience tremendous support and opportunities to collaborate with academic and industry partners, increase the breadth of their research area, and build Preeminent Teams. We make a creative and supportive environment for students to develop into well-rounded independent researchers and future leaders, while and advancing the frontiers of knowledge.

Featured Faculty

Andrew M. Weiner is best known for his pioneering work in ultrafast optics, especially programmable femtosecond pulse shaping and its application to ultrafast photonic signal processing.  He is an elected member in the National Academy of Engineering and was named a Dept. of Defense National Security Science and Engineering Faculty Fellow.  He served a three-year term as Chair of the National Academy’s U.S. Frontiers of Engineering Meeting and currently serves as editor-in-chief of Optics Express. Weiner is author of the textbook Ultrafast Optics; has published more than 300 journal articles, 500 conference papers, and eight book chapters; and is inventor of 18  U.S. patents. His numerous awards include the Hertz Foundation Doctoral Thesis Prize, the Optical Society of America’s Adolph Lomb Medal, the International Commission on Optics Prize, the IEEE Photonics Society’s William Streifer Scientific Achievement Award, the OSA R.W. Wood Prize, and the IEEE Photonics Society Quantum Electronics Award. At Purdue, he has been recognized with the inaugural Research Excellence Award from the College of Engineering, the Provost's Outstanding Graduate Student Mentor Award, the Herbert Newby McCoy Award for outstanding contributions to the natural sciences, and the College of Engineering Mentoring Award.  Weiner earned his Sc.D. in electrical engineering from MIT.