Skip navigation

Summer Seminar

Seminars are on Wednesdays beginning May 16, 2018 and ending on August 15, 2018 (9:30-10:30PM in MJIS 2001; no videoconference to Indianapolis).

Three presentations are held each Wednesday unless otherwise noted on the schedule.  Each talk lasts ~15 min with 5 min after each for questions and comments.

Summer Seminar is a BME69000 seminar course. BME PhD students may use a Summer Seminar Series once as one of the four seminar courses required for the program, and BME 5th year master's students may use a Summer Seminar Series as one of the two seminar courses required for that program. Students may self-register through myPurdue using the CRN for the course found in the Schedule of Classes. Registered students must sign in at Summer Seminar no later than 12:35PM and remain in attendance for both presentations. Registered students must attend at least 8 sessions (both presentations) in order to receive a satisfactory grade and credit.

More information on BME Summer Seminar Series:

Traditionally, students are asked to make a presentation on their research the summer after completing their second academic year in the program. Students often indicate a desire for more presentation opportunities and Summer Seminar is an excellent way to obtain this experience.

BME Faculty, staff and students are encouraged to attend each week and to provide feedback and suggestions regarding research content as well as presentation style. The audience will be given time to ask questions and voice comments and also to fill out a provided evaluation form. This seminar series is a chance for students to refine presentation skills and to address critical questions that may be raised by audience members.

Further incentive for participants: The Fearnot-Laufman-Greatbatch Award will be awarded to the student who gives the most outstanding presentation of the summer. Dr. Neal Fearnot established this award after he donated funds because he felt that a summer seminar was very valuable for students. The selection will be determined by evaluations submitted by faculty, students, and staff in attendance at the seminars. The prize is $200 (minus taxes), an individual plaque, and the winner's name engraved on a permanent plaque on display in the Martin C. Jischke Hall of Biomedical Engineering.