2012-13 Graduate Student Organization (GSO) Symposium Awards


  • First Place: Anand Venkatesan, Advisor Phillip Wankat, “Low Cost Synergistic Desalination Processes”
  • Second place: Sara Yohe, Advisors Nicholas Delgass and Fabio Ribeiro, “High Pressure Catalytic Hydrodeoxygenation Reaction Pathways and Kinetics for Dihydroeugenol over Pt/ZrO2 and Ru/ZrO2 catalysts”
  • Third Place: Krishnaraj Sambath, Advisor Osman Basaran, “Fission and Fusion of Liquid Drops”
  • Honorable Mention: Jayachandran Devaraj, Advisors Doraiswami Ramkrishna, “Model-based Individualized Treatment for Childhood Leukemia”


  • First Place: Gautam Yadav, Advisor Yue Wu  “Design and Assembly of Nanostructured Materials for the Construction of Batteries and Thermoelectric Devices”
  • Second place: Aniruddha Kelkar, Advisors David Corti and Elias Franses,  “Multi-Scale Approach to Dispersion Dynamics: Plug Formation in Sub-Sea Oil Pipelines”
  • Third Place: Kaiwalya Sabnis, Advisors Nicholas Delgass and Fabio Ribeiro, “Water-Gas Shift Catalysis over Transition Metals Supported on Molybdenum Carbide”

2013 Magoon Award:

  • Nathan B. Davis
  • Laura J. Hirshfield
  • Daniel Pohlman

2013 Outstanding Service and Scholarship Award:

  • Aniruddha Kelkar

2013 CETA (Committee Education of Teaching Assistants) Award:

  • Emre Gencer