2016-17 Undergraduate Student Awards

Congratulations to the chemical engineering students, both undergraduate and graduate, who received awards at the annual Senior Banquet in Spring 2017!

Excellence for Undergraduate Teaching Assistant

The Undergraduate Award for Teaching Excellence in senior courses in Chemical Engineering as voted by the senior students is awarded to:

  • Taufik Ridha

Stephen Craig Award

The Stephen Craig Award was established to recognize an outstanding junior in the School of Chemical Engineering. The recipient of the award for 2016-17 is:

  • Thivesh Karunakaran

  • Elane Stephenson

George T. Tsao Award

The George T. Tsao Award in the School of Chemical Engineering at Purdue is awarded to worthy juniors on the basis of scholarship and in consideration of their accomplishments. The recipient of the 2016-17 Award is:

  • Michael Rupp

AIChE Award

The AIChE Award is given to a senior student in the School of Chemical Engineering based on his or her service to the department through AIChE. The recipient of the AIChE award for 2016-17 is:

  • Devin Zuck

Omega Chi Epsilon Award

In 1961 Omega Chi Epsilon established the Outstanding Senior Award to be presented on the basis of scholarship, leadership, and character. In 1963 the award was dedicated to Bruce A. Wilson. The recipient for 2016-17 of the Omega Chi Epsilon award is:

  • Crystal Fisher

John Clarence Lottes Memorial Award

The John Clarence Lottes Memorial Award was established in 1953. This award is given to recognize outstanding seniors in Chemical Engineering. The recipient for the 2016-17 awards is:

  • John McGee

Lindsay Anne Williams Award

The Lindsay Ann Williams Award for Outstanding Leadership in Chemical Engineering was established in 2011 to honor a senior in ChE based primarily on Service to Purdue (to the College of Engineering or the university as a whole) Service to Community, Service Character, and Organizational Involvement, also taking into consideration Technical and Academic Achievements.  The recipient for the 2016-17 award is:  

  • Kirsten Ivkovic

Marilyn Forney Trailblazer Award

The Marilyn Forney Trailblazer Award was established to recognize an outstanding female student whose impact has helped pave the way for women in the field of engineering. The award is based on leadership & service efforts through the Women in Engineering Program or Women in Chemical Engineering Seminar. The recipient of the 2016-17 award is:

  • Sydney Hollingshead

Undergraduate Research Award

In 2013, the Undergraduate Research Award was established to recognize outstanding students who have participated in research opportunities throughout their academic journey. The award is based on countless hours spent in the lab, papers presented at conferences, and articles submitted to journals. The recipients for 2016-17 award are:

  • Jacklyn Hall

  • Zixue Ma

Senior Design Project Awards

Each year awards are given for the best senior design projects.  The top three teams for 2016-17 are:

First Place

  • Sunland Gong
  • DJ Kim
  • Henry Shen
  • Matt Wickes

Second Place

  • Tom Banks
  • Allison Dammeyer
  • Tim Heath
  • Dubem Mbeledogu 
  • Adam McCulloch

Third Place

  • Christopher Browne
  • John Cullinan
  • Cody Leach
  • Gloriia Novikova 
  • Matthew Willmore