Faculty Elected to the National Academy of Engineering

The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) is a private, independent, nonprofit institution that advises the federal government and conducts independent studies in technology and engineering. Its peer-elected members and foreign associates are among the world’s most accomplished engineers in academia, business, and government. Members are chosen for their outstanding contributions to engineering and to the "pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.

Agrawal, Rakesh

Winthrop E. Stone 
Distinguished Professor

Election year: 2002

For contributions to the development and worldwide implementation of high-efficiency and high-purity cryogenic and non-cryogenic gas separation processes.


Kim, Sangtae
Distinguished Professor

Election year: 2001

For contributions to microhydrodynamics, protein dynamics, and drug discovery through the application of high-performance computing.

Pipes, R. Byron
John Leighton Bray 
Distinguished Professor

Election year: 1987

For interdisciplinary leadership in composite materials research, and for development of an exemplary model of university, industrial, and governmental interactions in research and education.

Ramkrishna, Doraiswami
Harry Creighton Peffer Distinguished Professor

Election year: 2009

For creation of new model concepts and solutions that improved the engineering of biological and particulate processes.

Reklaitis, Gintaras V.
Burton and Kathryn Gedge
Distinguished Professor

Election year: 2007

For developing the theory and application of batch design, scheduling, and optimization tools, and for outstanding contributions to education.

Siirola, Jeffrey J.
Professor of Engineering Practice

Election year: 1994

For industrial and professional leadership in advancing process design and synthesis.