Honorary Doctorates

Honorary Doctorates are conferred by the faculty of Purdue University, in recognition of excelence in some aspect of the field of Materials Science and Engineering or an affiliated profession as exemplified by leadership and accomplishments.

The following alumni of the School of Materials Engineering, or the School of Metallurgical Engineering, have been named to Honorary Doctorates:

  • 1993 - Reinhardt Schuhmann, Jr., Director, Q-S Oxygen Processes, Inc., Portland, ME.
  • 1968 - John M. Ciborski, BS 1939. President, Titanium Metals Corporation of America, New York.
  • 1967 - Bruce W. Gonser, BS 1923. Retired 1965. Formerly of Battelle Memorial Institute.
  • 2004 - Eugene S. Meieran, BS 1959. Intel Fellow, Intel Corporation, Phoenix, AZ.