John . Schmisseur

John . Schmisseur

Professor of Aerospace Engineering and H.H. Arnold Chair
University of Tennessee Knoxville
BSAAE 1984
MSAAE 1987




"My education at Purdue not only provided a strong scientific engineering foundation, but also contributed to a variety of opportunities throughout my career. The Aerospace community appreciates the enduring excellence of the School of Aeronautics and Astronautics and being a Boilermaker has had its advantages."

Dr. John D. Schmisseur graduated from Purdue University with a Ph.D. in Aeronautics and Astronautics in 1997 after earning his Bachelor of Science in 1990 and Master of Science in 1992 in Aerospace Engineering from the University of Texas at Austin. Dr. Schmisseur joined the faculty of the University of Tennessee Knoxville Department of Mechanical, Aerospace, and Biomedical Engineering in August 2014. He will be teaching and leading research at the University of Tennessee Space Institute.

Prior to joining the faculty, Dr. Schmisseur was the Chief of the Energy, Power & Propulsion Sciences Division and Program Manager for Aerothermodynamics within the Air Force Office of Scientific Research (AFOSR). During his tenure at AFOSR, Dr. Schmisseur initiated and led a national strategic research plan which has guided the research efforts of multiple federal agencies, championed the transition of basic research capabilities that have advanced flagship national hypersonics technology programs and transformed test and evaluation capabilities, and envisioned the HIFiRE program which unifies the efforts of AFRL, NASA and the Australian DSTO to advance fundamental hypersonic science and technology via flight research.

Dr. Schmisseur is active within the professional community including serving as Chair of the AIAA Fluid Dynamics Technical Committee and a NATO Science and Technology Organisation working group. He is also a frequent keynote speaker at a variety of scientific meetings. He is a Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (2012) and the Air Force Research Laboratory (2013) and is the 2008 recipient of the Air Force Science and Engineering Award in Research Management.