Summer and Fall 2019 Student Awards

The Purdue Weldon School of Biomedical Engineering congratulates the following undergraduate and graduate students who received awards and honors in summer and fall 2019.

Seniors Jason Ummel (second from left) and Megan Hofstetter (far right) represented their senior design team and presented their solution for improved pediatric medication safety via a redesigned pill bottle at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) taskforce meeting in Atlanta, GA, in Dec., 2019. They are pictured with CDC representatives (left to right): Maribeth Silivus, Jennifer Lind, and Dan Budnitz. Mentorship for the senior design project was provided by Nan Kong and Hugh Lee, faculty at the Purdue Weldon School of Biomedical Engineering, as well as Diane Hountz and Deborah Spoerner, faculty at the Purdue School of Nursing. Members of the senior design team not pictured are: Prisca Mbachu, Drew Fox, and Nick Laten. The project won the People's Choice Award at the 2019 Senior Design Presentations and Demonstrations event. 

Undergraduate Student Awards

Léony Boudreau: Charles Sullivan Outstanding Sophomore

I-Ting Chen: Havel-Decker Outstanding Junior

Madeleine Henderson:  Combs Family BME Scholarship

Meghan Henderson: Weldon School Senior Class Scholarship

Lindsay Karab:  Ayers Family Scholarship

Alexander Lai: Haselby Family Outstanding Senior

Maria McDonald:  Havel-Decker Outstanding Junior

Charlie Martin: Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowships (SURF) Program Top Research Talk

Prisca Mbachu: Dozer Family Scholarship

Alita Miller:  Haselby Family Outstanding Senior

Haripriya Sakthivel: Charles Sullivan Outstanding Sophomore

Emma Simmons: Weldon School Senior Class Scholarship

Omozafe Udegbe: Charles Sullivan Outstanding Sophomore

Ben Walters: Alpha Eta Mu Beta Travel Award

Grand Prize, 2019 Co-making the Future China-US Young Maker Competition US semi-finals and Third Place, 2019 China-US Young Maker Competition: Srinivas Govindan, Damen Wilson, Pragna Upputuri, Ali Abu-Saleh

First Place, Senior Design Project: Renxiang Tang, Maria del Mar Davila, Bethany Doehrman, Maryam Nuru

Second Place, Senior Design Project: Srinivas Govindan, Ali AbuSaleh, Apoorva Bhagwat, Sawyer Kieffer

Third Place, Senior Design Project: Elizabeth Manes, Kallista A. Dentice, Dalton Sullivan, Sameer P. Leley

People’s Choice Award, Senior Design Project: Nick Laten, Drew Fox, Jason Ummel, Prisca Mbachu, Megan Hofstetter

Graduate Student Awards

Alycia Berman:  Ronald W. Dollens Graduate Scholarship

Hannah Cebull: NSF Institute of International Education-Graduate International Research Experiences (IIE-GIRE) Scholarship

Ashlee Colbert:  1st place, Technical Presentation, National GEM Conference

Frederick Damen: Leslie Bottorff Fellowship

Joe Fernandez: NIH Fellowship through Interdisciplinary Training Program in Auditory Neuroscience (TPAN) T32. His research is on secondary oxidative damage and auditory deficits following mild blast traumatic brain injury

Andres Llico Gallardo: Joe Bourland Travel Award

Katherine Leyba: Joe Bourland Travel Award

Sarah Libring: NSF Institute of International Education-Graduate International Research Experiences (IIE-GIRE) Scholarship

Sarah Lipp: Leslie Bottorff Fellowship

Sang Mok Park: Leslie Bottorff Fellowship

Matt Pharris: August 2019 Commencement Student Responder

Sean Rothenberger: Fearnot-Laufman-Greatbatch Award

Janelle Salameh: Joe Bourland Travel Award

Luke Schepers: Leslie Bottorff Fellowship

Nate Smith: Leslie Bottorff Fellowship

Arvin H Soepriatna: Joe Bourland Travel Award

Shruthi Suresh: Bilsland Dissertation Fellowship

Divya Tankasala: Joe Bourland Travel Award

Carolina Vivas Valencia: Joe Bourland Travel Award

Jana Vincent: 2019 Joe Bourland Travel Award

Xiaoyu Xu: ASBMR 2019 Annual Meeting Young Investigator Travel Grant, Best Pre-Doctoral Talk at the Orthopaedic Research Society Great Lakes/Midwest Regional Symposium