Nauman to be inducted into Purdue's Book of Great Teachers

Eric Nauman, a professor in the Weldon School of Biomedical Engineering, will be inducted into Purdue's Book of Great Teachers, which honors outstanding teaching faculty who have demonstrated sustained excellence in the classroom. A total of 45 Purdue professors will receive the honor on Dec. 11. Nauman is also director of the College of Engineering Honors Program and a professor of mechanical engineering and basic medical sciences.
Eric Nauman, professor of biomedical engineering, mechanical engineering, and basic medical sciences; director of the College of Engineering Honors Program.

Held every five years, the induction ceremony will take place at 3:30 p.m. in Purdue Memorial Union's South Ballroom President Mitch Daniels and Provost Jay Akridge will speak at the event.

Automatically included in the Book of Great Teachers are professors with 10 years of service to the University who previously have been honored with the Charles B. Murphy Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award. Other inductees have at least 15 years of service to the University and were nominated by students, alumni and colleagues.

“The Book of Great Teachers honors the very best of our Purdue educators and underscores our commitment to teaching excellence,” Akridge says. “We are grateful to the faculty members inducted this year -- and in years past -- for their devotion to our students, and we thank them on behalf of the countless lives they have influenced through their wisdom and guidance.” 

The ceremony is open to the public. RSVPs are due Monday (Dec. 3) by emailing

Everyone inducted into the Book of Great Teachers is listed on a bronze-and-walnut wall display in the west foyer of the Union. The display was first unveiled in 1999. Including the most recently inducted professors, the book includes 429 names.

Professors to be honored, by college:

Clint C.S. Chapple
James D. Forney
Kenneth A. Foster
John H. Lumkes Jr.
Lisa J. Mauer
S. Suzanne Nielsen
Paul V. Preckel
Gerald E. Shively
B. Allen Talbert
Wallace E. Tyner
Rod N. Williams

JoAnn I. Phillion

Gregory A. Blaisdell
Edward J. Delp III
Chad T. Jafvert
Eric A. Nauman
Matthew W. Ohland
Carl R. Wassgren Jr.

Health and Human Sciences
Cynthia L. Bozich Keith
Julia A. Chester
Karen J. Foli
Jennifer L. Freeman
Gerald C. Hyner
Jeffrey D. Karpicke
Susan E. Swithers

Krannert School of Management
Clifford D. Fisher

Liberal Arts
S. Dorsey Armstrong
Carol J. Cunningham-Sigman
Melanie Morgan
Leigh S. Raymond
Anthony J. Silva
John D. Sundquist 

Matthew M. Murawski
Kimberly Illingworth Plake 

Purdue Polytechnic Institute
R. Mark French
James L. Jenkins
Linda L. Naimi

Erica W. Carlson
Henry C. Chang
Donatella Danielli-Garofalo
Mark A. Lipton
David R. McMillin
Marcy H. Towns
Aaron Nung Kwan Yip

Veterinary Medicine
John A. Christian