EEE Awards

Most years, the EEE community gathers to celebrate the end of the academic year and all of the accomplishments of the year. Unfortunately, we weren't able to do that this year because of the COVID-19 pandemic, but that doesn't take away from the amazing things they did this year.

Bravo Award – Meg Whelton
Purdue University's Bravo Award Program serves to recognize the excellence that exists among employees across the University. Margaret Whelton received a Bravo Award in the category of Moving the University Forward.

College of Engineering Faculty Excellence for Early Career Teaching – Michael Mashtare
For innovative coursework in Urban Ecosystem Services and Soil Science, harnessing various active learning techniques, such as a hybridized version of lab/lecture format, to enrich the student experience, and to enhance engagement and critical thinking skills.

College of Engineering Faculty Excellence in Engagement Award – Inez Hua
For providing unique professional development opportunities for STEM learning to area teachers focused on content knowledge, lab skills and data analysis techniques, and for fostering undergraduate student research of environmental challenges in the green economy and building interest in engineering graduate studies.

EEE Outstanding Senior Award - Elizabeth VanTreeck
Recognizes the excellence of a senior in EEE for their academic performance, leadership, service, professional activities. This year, 36 students met the minimum requirements for this award.

Gaylord Nelson Award – Madison Hodges
Recognizes the excellence and potential future excellence in engaged leadership related to sustainability and the environment.

Magoon Graduate Teacher Award - Tolu Odimayomi
Recognizes outstanding teaching assistants in memory of Estus H. and Vashti L. Magoon.

Outstanding Service Award – Renee Obringer
Recognizes the engineering graduate students who provide outstanding service to the graduate student community, the School, the College, and/or the University.

Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award – Chad Jafvert
Graduate students recognize his exceptional mentoring of engineering graduate students.

Outstanding Postdoctoral Researcher Award – Caitlin Proctor
Recognizes the accomplishments and contributions of postdoctoral researchers currently employed in Purdue’s College of Engineering who are pursuing careers in academia or entrepreneurship and innovation.

Purdue Engineering Fellow – Megan Geraghty
Through the generosity of alumnus Robert Buckman and his wife Joyce Mollerup, five engineering seniors were nominated by faculty and staff and chosen by a committee to receive $10,000 each after they graduate from Purdue in 2020.

Rachel Carson Award – Danielle Angert
Recognize the excellence and potential future excellence in engaged leadership related to sustainability and the environment.

Society of Environmental and Ecological Engineers Instructional Excellence Award - Lindsey Payne
Students in the EEE undergraduate degree program vote for an instructor based on the faculty member's commitment to student success, ability to effectively communicate material to students, and desire to motivate students to learn.

Teaching Academy Graduate Teaching Award - Tolu Odimayomi
Honors graduate students with teaching responsibilities for their dedication to Purdue undergraduate students and their exceptional teaching contributions.

The Outstanding Graduate Research Award – Debora Maia Silva
Recognizes outstanding PhD candidates who have demonstrated excellence in research through publications, recognized contributions to the research field and society, leadership within a research community, academic achievements, and participation in professional societies.