Skip navigation

Weldon School Graduate Students Honored

Jamie Brugnano
Jamie Brugnano, Magoon Award Recipient
Emily Gullotti
Emily Gullotti, Bilsland Dissertation Fellowship recipient
David Jaroch
David Jaroch - BIlsland Dissertation Fellowship recipient
Deva Chan
Deva Chan, COE Outstanding Service Scholarship recipient
Trisha Eustaquio
Trisha Eustaquio - Magoon and CETA Teaching Awards recipient
Scott Jewett
Scott Jewett - Magoon Award for Excellence in Teaching recipient
Matt Makowski
Matt Makowski - COE Outstanding Service Scholarship recipient
The end of the semester included a flurry of honors for several of our outstanding graduate students.

Jamie Brugnano, Scott Jewett and Trisha Eustaquio were selected to receive Purdue's College of Engineering Magoon Award for Excellence in Teaching. This award recognizes outstanding teaching assistants and instructors through funds generated by a trust established by Estes H. and Vashti L. Magoon. Mrs. Magoon died in 1986, just prior to her 103rd birthday. Through this award, they have influenced the careers of many engineering educators.

Trisha Eustaquio was also selected for the Committee for the Education of Teaching Assistants (CETA) Teaching Award.

Emily Gullotti and David Jaroch were awarded Bilsland Dissertation Fellowships. The Bilsland Dissertation Fellowship provides support to outstanding PhD candidates in their final year of doctoral degree completion. Bilsland Fellows are expected to devote full-time effort to the completion of all doctoral degree requirements and to receive the doctoral degree at the conclusion of the fellowship tenure. Bilsland Dissertation Fellowship provides a stipend, payment of tuition and most fees and a medical insurance supplement.

Two Weldon School graduate students received the College of Engineering Outstanding Service Scholarship. Deva Chan and Matt Makowski were recognized for their ongoing, tireless leadership of the Biomedical Engineering Graduate Student Association (BMEGSA). This scholarship is presented to engineering graduate students who have provided outstanding service to the graduate student community, the School, the College, and/or the University.

Congratulations to them all for their dedication to enhancing the biomedical engineering experience at Purdue University.