Steering Advisory Council 2017-2018

The Steering Advisory Council (SAC), made up of leaders in the aerospace sector, advises and helps the College of Engineering and Purdue in exploring and creating opportunities in the aerospace enterprise that are timely and important at the national level, where academia, industry, and government can work together. This council is set up for the Dean of Engineering, and AAE is privileged to run the SAC on behalf of the dean. The SAC meets once a year. The current members of our SAC are listed below. We are extremely grateful to the efforts of our SAC members in serving the nation’s needs in the aerospace sector.

Mr. Tim Cahill 
Vice president and general manager • Strategic defense systems
Lockheed Martin Space Systems Company
Tim Cahill
Ms. Natalie W. Crawford
Senior fellow 
RAND Corporation
Natalie Crawford photo
Mr. Darryl W. Davis 
Company-wide management role • Enterprise Performance and Strategy
The Boeing Company
Darryl Davis
Mr. C. Douglas Ebersole 
U.S. Department of Defense liaison for Purdue • Executive director 
Air Force Research Laboratory
Douglas Ebersole
Mr. William H. Gerstenmaier 
Associate administrator • Human Exploration and Operations Directorate
William Gerstenmaier
Dr. Wesley L. Harris
C.S. Draper Professor Aeronautics & Astronautics
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Wes Harris
Ms. Amy Hess 
Special agent • Louisville division
Federal Bureau of Investigation
Amy Hess
Lt. General Jack Hudson
Director • National Museum of the U.S. Air Force
U.S. Air Force
Jack Hudson
Mr. Jarrett Jones
Vice president & program director • JSF LiftSystem
Rolls-Royce North American Inc.
Jarrett Jones
Dr. Stephen Morford
Vice president • Core Systems Engineering
Pratt & Whitney
Stephen Morford photo unavailable
Dr. Tom Pieronek
Vice president of basic research • NG Aerospace Systems
Northrop Grumman Corporation
Tom Pieronek
Dr. Alton D. Romig, Jr.
Executive officer
National Academy of Engineering
Lee Rhyant
Dr. Robert L. Strickler 
Retired • President
TRW ESS, Inc.; VP/GM • TRW EES; VP/GM • TRW S&M; GM • TRW ICBM Prime Integration
Robert Strickler
Dr. Matt Szolwinski (BSAAE '93, MSAAE '95, Ph.D. '98)
Leader • Large Military Engineering
GE Aviation
Matt Szolwinski photo unavailable
Mr. Thomas E. Vice 
Vice president and COO
Aerion Supersonic
Tom Vice
Dr. Sigmar Wittig
Professor • Karlsruh Institute of Technology
Member of the Board of Presidents • the Technical University System of the State of Niederachse — Association of Universities
of Hannover, Braunscheig, and Clausthal
Sigmar Wittig photo