March 21, 2022

G.A. Leonards Lecture and PGS Workshop

The Purdue Geotechnical Society is pleased to announce the 18th edition of the Purdue Geotechnical Workshop and the 18th G.A. Leonards Lecture. The in-person event will take place on Friday, May 6, 2022 on the Purdue University campus in West Lafayette, Indiana.
March 15, 2022

Answers to faster recovery from a wildfire are in the water

The more frequent wildfire disasters become, the less time communities will have to recover from each catastrophe. But it can take months for a town's water to be safe to drink again after a wildfire. That's why Andrew Whelton, a Purdue University professor of civil engineering and environmental and ecological engineering, has been regularly showing up to wildfires with his students and dozens of coolers for the past four years.
March 11, 2022

Dr. Kasey Faust receives 2022 Halpin Award

Dr. Kasey Faust (MSCE '10, MSIE '13, PhD '15), Associate Professor at the University of Texas at Austin, has received the Daniel W. Halpin Award for Scholarship in Construction. The award is presented by the ASCE Construction Institute.
March 9, 2022

Mopping can create air pollution that rivals city streets

A new study, co-authored by Assistant Professor Brandon Boor, shows how surface cleaning using commercial disinfectants can generate secondary indoor pollutants affecting indoor air quality and health, especially for workers repeatedly exposed to disinfectants.
March 4, 2022

Danielle Wagner selected as Dean's Teaching Fellow

PhD student Danielle Wagner has been selected as one of four Purdue Engineering Dean's Teaching Fellows for 2022. Graduate students selected for the program embody a strong commitment to mentoring, service and outreach.
March 3, 2022

Lesley Sneed named Distinguished Woman Scholar

Lesley Sneed (PhD '07), Professor of Civil, Materials, and Environmental Engineering at the University of Illinois at Chicago, has been selected as one of the 2022 Distinguished Women Scholars for her exceptional leadership and significant contributions to her field.
March 2, 2022

Take 6 with Howell Li

JTRP senior software engineer Howell Li recently made headlines with his invention to improve traffic light safety. Find out how he got his start, his favorite hobby, and much more.
February 28, 2022

Daryl Knip named President/CEO of Abonmarche

CE alumnus Daryl Knip (BSCE '94) has been promoted to President/CEO of Abonmarche Consultants. Daryl is responsible for managing Abonmarche operations that include nine offices in Indiana and Michigan.
February 28, 2022

Hardik Shah receives ITE Transportation Professional of the Year honors

CE alumnus Hardik Shah (MSCE '03/'05) has received the inaugural 2021 Transportation Professional of the Year Award from the Indiana Section of the Institute of Transportation Engineers (ITE). The award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the ITE Indiana Section through achievements in the transportation/traffic engineering profession.
February 14, 2022

Nadia Gkritza receives Frank M. Masters Award

Nadia Gkritza, Professor of Civil Engineering and Agricultural and Biological Engineering, has been selected by ASCE's Transportation and Development Institute to receive the 2022 Frank M. Masters Transportation Engineering Award for "outstanding contributions to research and education enhancing innovation in transportation planning and engineering."
February 8, 2022

Passing of Prof. Jacques Delleur

It is with great sadness that we announce the passing of Professor Emeritus Jack Delleur. Over his decades as an educator, Prof. Delleur guided and inspired countless alumni, faculty, and friends. He will truly be missed.
January 31, 2022

Andrew Whelton travels to Colorado in aftermath of Marshall Fire

On the morning of December 30, 2021, a grass fire broke out in Boulder County, Colorado on Marshall Road. It quickly began spreading due to 100 mile per hour winds and arid conditions. Just days after the fire’s end, Professor Andrew Whelton boarded a plane to Colorado at the request of community leaders to assess and assist in response and recovery.
January 27, 2022

Passing of Dr. Matthew Witczak

Dr. Matthew W. Witczak (Ph.D. 1969), Professor Emeritus of Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE) at the University of Maryland, passed away at his home on Tuesday, January 18th.
< Previous 20 | Viewing 21 to 40 of 1175 | Next 20 >