AAE Research Symposium Series

$1300 in Cash Prizes!


2017 Prizes

  • $500, $300, $200 for best three presentations
  • $150 for best undergraduate presentation
  • $150 for best abstract

The Research Symposium Series is a department-sponsored forum for graduate students and advanced-level undergraduates to present their research to a general audience. The Research Symposium Series is designed to:

  • Facilitate the exchange of ideas and knowledge among faculty and graduate students.
  • Provide opportunities for students to develop their technical presentation skills.
  • Promote the research activities of the department to undergraduates and other interested individuals.


Evaluation Forms

Tips for Making a Successful Abstract and Presentation

2015 Student Judges

To be announced

Congratulations to the 2014-15 Research Symposium Series Winners!


Left to Right: Prof. Alina Alexeenko, Waterloo Tsutsui, Dongju Lee, William O'Neill, Adam Bruce, Prof. Sergey Macheret, Prof. Tom Shih.

  • Best Presentation - William O'Neill, "Heat and Mass Transfer Analysis of a Film Evaporative MEMS Tuneable Array Thruster"
  • Second Place Presentation - Waterloo Tsutsui, "Crash Energy Absorption of EV Battery Packs"
  • Third Place Presentation - Benjamin Ashman, "Evaluation of the GNSS Multipath Environment in Space Proximity Operations: Experimental and Simulation Studies of Code Correlations in Hubble Servicing Mission 4"
  • Best Abstract - Adam Bruce, "Novel Ion Propulsion Enabled by Nano-Structured Surfaces"
  • Best Undergraduate Presentation - Dongju Lee, "High Vacuum Thrust Stand Analysis"

A plaque commemorating the best presentation of each year is on display on the 3rd floor of Armstrong Hall. Previous winners are: 

  • Christopher Ward
    Crossflow Instability and Transition in a Mach-6 Quiet Tunnel (2013-2014)
  • Nithya Subramanian
    Parallel Genetic Algorithm with Population-Based Sampling Approach to Discrete Optimization Under Uncertainty (2012-2013)
  • Mar Vaquero
    Design of Transfer Trajectories Between Resonant Orbits in the Restricted Three-Body Problem (2011-2012)
  • Cody Short
    Lagrangian Coherent Structures in the Restricted Three-Body Problem (2010-2011)
  • Katya Casper
    Hypersonic Wind-Tunnel Measurements of Boundary-Layer Pressure Fluctuations (2009-2010)
  • Joseph Gangestad
    The Dynamics of Lorentz Spacecraft with Application to a Mission to Enceladus (2008-2009)
  • Lindsay Millard
    Control of Spacecraft Imaging Arrays in Multi-Body Regimes (2007-2008)
  • Matthew Churchfield
    Numerical Computations of a Wingtip Vortex in the Near Field (2006-2007)
  • Arun Subramaniyan
    Toughening Polymeric Composites using Nanoclay (2005-2006)
  • Tyler Robarge
    Computations of Mean Flows and Instabilities on Axisymmetric Blunt Cones at Hypersonic Speeds (2004-2005)
  • Fong Loon Pan
    The Use of Integral Methods in Computational Aeroacoustics (2003-2004)
  • Ali Uzun
    3-D Large Eddy Simulation for Jet Noise Prediction (2002-2003)

Contact Information

Questions about the 2013-2014 Research Symposium Series may be directed to The RSS Team (aaerss@ecn.purdue.edu)