The Ruth and Joel Spira Outstanding Teacher Award

Joel Spira received a B.S. in Physics from Purdue in 1948. In 1961, Joel started Lutron Electronics, a privately held company that initially made light dimmers. Joel's insight into technology and manufacturing enabled him to build Lutron into a dominant force in the dimmer market.

The Ruth and Joel Spira Outstanding Teacher Award began in 1988, and is presented each year to a junior faculty member who has excelled in teaching and inspiring students in the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering. The recipient receives $2000 cash, a personal plaque, and their name added to a permanent plaque displayed in the main hallway of the EE building. The award is presented at the ECE awards banquet in the fall.


Past recipients:

Recipient Year
Amy Reibman 2017
Shreyas Sundaram 2016
Mark C. Johnson 2015
Milind Kulkarni 2014
Zhihong Chen 2013
Niklas Elmqvist 2012
Chih-Chun Wang 2011
Dan Jiao 2010
Steve Pekarek 2009
Mithuna Thottethodi 2006
Dimitrios Peroulis 2004
William J. Chappell 2003
Michael A. Capano 2002
Barrett Robinson 2001
Rashid Bashir 2000
Thomas M. Talavage 1999
Carla E. Brodley 1998
Ragu Balakrishnan 1997
Edward J. Coyle and Leah H. Jamieson 1996
Sarah Kate Wilson 1995
Peter C. Doerschuk 1994
Vwani P. Roychowdhury 1993
Mark R. Bell 1992
George R. Wodicka 1991
Michael D. Zoltowski 1990
John K. Antonio 1989
Anthony A. Maciejewski 1988