Civil Engineering welcomes our alumni and friends.

Since Purdue's opening in 1874, Purdue has spurred the advancement of the civil engineering profession, pioneering in transportation, materials, structures, land surveying, construction, and environmental engineering. The Lyles School of Civil Engineering continues to lead as we take up the challenges of the 21st century. New technology, industry's demand for design and team experiences in the curriculum, the increasing emphasis on interdisciplinary research, along with other changes, affect how we educate our students and perform our mission of discovering new knowledge.

Getting involved is your opportunity to give back to the school in ways that further our mission and vision, connect with fellow alumni, enhance our communities, and reach out to students. Contact the Civil Engineering main office at (765) 494-2166 for information on how you can support your school. We look forward to hearing from you.

Alumni Spotlights

January 7, 2022

Tim Gunn recognized by ENR for SLU hospital project

Tim Gunn (BSCE '91), Vice President of Construction for Alberici Constructors, Inc., along with the SSM Health Saint Louis University Hospital campus renewal project team, has been recognized by Engineering News-Record with the Health Care Award of Merit for their innovative approach to modular design and off-site construction.
November 29, 2021

James Lambrechts receives BSCES Honorary Member, College Educator Awards

Wentworth Institute of Technology Civil Engineering Professor and Lyles School of Civil Engineering alumnus James Lambrechts (MSCE 1976) was honored earlier this year by the Boston Society of Civil Engineers Section (BSCES) of the American Society of Civil Engineers with two recognitions of distinction: the BSCES Honorary Member Award and the BSCES College Educator Award.
September 30, 2021

Chris Burke receives Honorary Doctorate at UIC

CE alumnus Chris Burke (BSCE '77, MSCE '79, PhD '83, HDR 2010) has received the honorary degree of Doctor of Engineering from the University of Illinois Chicago for his contributions to the field of civil engineering.
September 14, 2021

Paul Mlakar featured in ASCE podcast reflecting on 9/11 Pentagon attack

Paul Mlakar (PhD '75) is an ASCE distinguished member with more than 40 years of service with the United State Army Corps of Engineers, now in the role of Engineer Emeritus for the U.S. Army Engineer Research and Development Center. And 20 years ago, he led the ASCE team investigating the damage done by the Sept. 11 attack at the Pentagon. In episode 85 of ASCE Plot Points, Mlakar looks back on that investigation, Sept. 11, and how the profession has changed.
June 8, 2021

Brandon Hardin named to Conexus Rising 30

Brandon Hardin (BSCE'17, MSCE'19) is among six Purdue College of Engineering alumni that have been selected for the inaugural Conexus Rising 30 cohort. Presented by Conexus Indiana, Rising 30 honors advanced manufacturing and logistics' emerging leaders — building a prestigious community of young professionals celebrated for their extraordinary talent and innovative thinking early in their career.
April 16, 2021

2021 Civil Engineering Alumni Achievement Awards

CE alumni William Bailey, Jr., Thomas Chance, Timothy Jacobs, Carrie Warner, and Timothy Wilschetz were celebrated as the 2021 Civil Engineering Alumni Achievement Award recipients at a virtual award ceremony on April 15th.
March 12, 2021

Benjamín Colucci-Ríos recognized with 2021 ASCE Wilbur S. Smith Award

Congratulations to Benjamín Colucci-Ríos, PhD, PE, F.ASCE, F.ITE, for being selected by ASCE's Transportation and Development Institute to receive the 2021 Wilbur S. Smith Award. This award, which was instituted in 1984, recognizes Dr. Colucci-Ríos for his "unending leadership and dedication to action for the improvement of road safety in Puerto Rico and around the world." This prestigious award will be presented at the International Conference on Transportation & Development/ Pavements, June 8-10, 2021.
March 4, 2021

Passing of Dr. Dimitri Athanasiou Grivas

Dr. Dimitri Athanasiou Grivas (PhD 1976) died on February 27 at the age of 72. He was a PhD student under Milton Harr and collaborated with him in the development of probabilistic methods in Geotechnical Engineering. He then joined the faculty of the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in Albany (NY) where he spent his whole academic career.
January 27, 2021

Pioneering engineer Delon Hampton dies at 87

Delon Hampton, esteemed academic, founder of a firm bearing his name that has grown for 48 years, and at the outset of the 21st century, ASCE’s first Black president, has died. He was 87.
November 15, 2020

Dean A. Browning recognized as ACI Honorary Member

Dean A. Browning (BS '71, MS '74) has been recognized by the American Concrete Institute (ACI) as Honorary Member, ACI's highest honor. Dean is recognized for his long and outstanding service to ACI and his leadership at the Charles Pankow Foundation.
Viewing 1 to 20 of 168 | Next 20 >