Transportation Engineering

November 18, 2016

UDOT Innovation Award

Utah Department of Transportation (UDOT) awarded the 2016 Innovation Award for the Peer-to-Peer Adaptive Signal Control System in Moab, Utah. Purdue's Lucy Richardson, Chris Day, and Professor Darcy Bullock worked with UDOT colleagues Mark Taylor and Matthew Luker to evaluate this system
November 8, 2016

Ron Klemencic Receives the Fazlur R. Khan Lifetime Achievement Medal

Congratulations to Ron Klemencic (BSCE '85), Chairman and CEO of Magnusson Klemencic Associates and Charles Pankow Foundation Board Member, for receiving the Fazlur R. Khan Lifetime Achievement Medal from the Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat (CTBUH).
November 7, 2016

2016-17 Faculty Awards Online Voting

Online voting is now open for the 2016-17 CE Faculty Awards. CE students are encouraged to vote from among their current semester professors for the Munson, Wansik & Buck teaching awards.
November 2, 2016

Xianyuan Zhan receives 2016 James S. McDonnell Foundation (JSMF) Postdoctoral Fellowship Award in Studying Complex Systems

Xianyuan Zhan, a graduate student in Lyles School of Civil Engineering, was awarded the prestigious JSMF Postdoctoral Fellowship in Complex Systems this year. The James S. McDonnell Foundation was established in 1950 by aerospace pioneer James S. McDonnell to "improve the quality of life," and does so by contributing to the generation of new knowledge through its support of research and scholarship.
October 25, 2016

Leonard E. Wood Lecture Series

This year's Leonard E. Wood Lecture was held Thursday, October 27th. Dr. Thomas D. White, Professor of Civil Engineering at Mississippi State University, delivered his lecture titled, "Is Hot Mix Asphalt a Rational Material?"
October 24, 2016

Undergrads create energy-absorbing materials

Professor Pablo Zavattieri's research laboratory in the basement of Purdue's Hampton Hall of Civil Engineering looks like a toy shop or carpenter's workshop. Geometric models, connected with splices of metal measuring tape and aluminum tubing, are scattered about. Nearby is a handful of brightly colored, triangular models made of orange, yellow, pink and green bendy straws. There are several foot-long, accordion-shaped origami paper models connected with a nut and bolt at each end that, when fully spun on their ends, rotate and collapse into an inch-thick disk.
October 21, 2016

Science on Tap to feature talk on Engineering 2.0, materials designed from nature

Purdue University civil engineering professor Pablo Zavattieri will discuss how nature can inspire and influence high-performance materials at next week's session of Science on Tap. Zavattieri's talk, titled "Engineering 2.0: Millions of Years of Trial and Error Making High-Performance Materials," is at 6 p.m. on Oct. 27 on the top floor of Lafayette Brewing Company, 622 Main St., Lafayette. The informal lecture, sponsored by the Lyles School of Civil Engineering, the College of Engineering and Discovery Park, is free and open to those 21 and older.
October 20, 2016

Joe Sinfield named Director of College of Engineering Innovation and Leadership Studies Program

Joe Sinfield, Associate Professor of Civil Engineering, has been named Director of the College of Engineering Innovation and Leadership Studies Program. This program includes Engineering's Innovation and Leadership Minor for undergraduates in any major in Engineering, a graduate-level research component to fuel the program with research-derived insights into repeatable patterns of innovation success, and a service component to help enhance the innovation efforts of units and organizations across the campus.
October 11, 2016

CE PhD alumnae, Dr. Govindaraju receive ASCE State-of-the-Art of Civil Engineering Award

Richa Ojha, Meenu Ramadas and Rao S. Govindaraju (Bowen Engineering Head and Christopher B. and Susan S. Burke Professor of Civil Engineering) were the 2016 recipients of the ASCE State-of-the-Art of Civil Engineering Award. The annual award is for scholarly review, evaluation, and documentation of the scientific and technical information needed by the profession.
October 4, 2016

Steel from Minnesota Bridge donated to Engineering lab

According to the Minnesota Department of Transportation, Ames Construction has donated portions of steel from the old Dresbach Bridge to Purdue's Steel Bridge Research, Inspection, Training, and Engineering (S-BRITE) Center, according to the Minnesota Department of Transportation.
September 29, 2016

Tilting flume increases educational impact of Burke Lab

The Purdue Lyles School of Civil Engineering is committed to providing our students, faculty, and staff with the best tools available to aid them in their research and study. One of the latest additions to our school is the tilting flume, located in the Christopher and Susan Burke Hydraulics and Hydrologic Lab in Hampton Hall.
September 19, 2016

Lovell Lecture Series

The 14th C.W. Lovell Distinguished Lecture will be held on Friday, November 4th and will feature Professor Richard Jardine with his talk entitled, "Geotechnics and Energy."
Viewing 1 to 20 of 662 | Next 20 >