Recent Faculty Recognitions

Sergey Macheret in an electronics research lab
Sergey Macheret

Sergey Macheret, AIAA Fellow and Award Recipient

Professor Sergey Macheret was elected an AIAA Fellow, and received award for his pioneering work on plasma applications in aerospace.

Read the full story

Dengfeng Sun receiving award from Bill Crossley
Prof. Dengfeng Sun receiving the C.T. Sun award from AAE Head Bill Crossley.

Dengfeng Sun, C.T. Sun Research Award

Dengfeng Sun is the 2022 recipient of the C.T. Sun School of Aeronautics and Astronautics Excellence in Research Award.

The award is presented annually to an individual or team of faculty members in AAE to recognize high quality contributions in science and engineering. Dengfeng was honored during a virtual faculty meeting in May.

“Being recognized by my colleagues is the highest honor I could receive and I am extremely grateful and proud. C.T. Sun is my role model. To receive an award with his namesake is a tremendous honor.”

Daniel Delaurentis in a classroom
Daniel Delaurentis

Daniel DeLaurentis, Senior Fellow with Krach Institute for Tech Diplomacy

Professor Daniel DeLaurentis was among three distinguished experts added to the center's diverse and fast-growing team of Fellows.

Read the full story

Justin Mansell receiving award from Bill Crossley
Visiting Assistant Professor Justin Mansell receiving the Bruhn award from AAE Head Bill Crossley.

Justin Mansell, Bruhn Teaching Award

Justin Mansell, a visiting assistant professor in AAE, has been chosen by the School’s undergraduate student body as the Elmer F. Bruhn Award winner.

The annual award is given for excellence in teaching and made possible by the interest and generosity of friends and alumni of the School. Students select faculty based on five factors: clarity of presentation of subject matter, creating student interest in the subject, relating engineering theory and practice, intellectual challenge to the student, and development of logical approaches and critical evaluation.

“I am truly honored to be the recipient of this year's Bruhn award. Teaching at a university is something I've dreamt about doing since I was in high school, and the preparation and opportunities that AAE has provided to me have been among the most rewarding highlights of my career so far. I am energized by the trust that the school places in me to engage with so many bright students and do everything I can to help them succeed!”

Timothe Pourpoint
Professor Timothée Pourpoint

Timothée Pourpoint and team, AIAA Best Paper

A paper by AAE Professor Timothée Pourpoint and his team was selected for the 2021 AIAA Liquid Propulsion Best Paper Award from the Propulsion and Energy Forum held virtually in August 2021.

Read the full story

Bill Crossley
Prof. Bill Crossley, the J. William Uhrig and Anastasia Vournas Head of Aeronautics and Astronautics

Bill Crossley, Murphy Teaching Award

Bill Crossley is the recipient of the 2022 Charles B. Murphy Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching. The longtime Purdue instructor, now in his 27th year as a faculty member, proudly views the honor as a lifetime achievement award.

Crossley, the J. William Uhrig and Anastasia Vournas Head of Aeronautics and Astronautics and a member of Purdue’s College of Engineering faculty since 1995, has taught nearly 5,000 students, including over 3,300 undergraduates, in his main courses on aerospace and aircraft design, and multidisciplinary design optimization.

Read the full story

Tyler Tallman
Assistant Professor Tyler Tallman

Tyler Tallman, W.A. Gustafson Award winner

Tyler Tallman, an assistant professor, was chosen by AAE juniors and seniors for the annual award presented for excellence in teaching. “Best AAE professor I have had yet at Purdue,” said one student who voted for him.

Read the full story


Publish date: May 26, 2022