AAE Research Symposium Series

$1300 in Cash Prizes!


Next Seminar
Monday, April 21, 2014
4:30pm in ARMS 1021

Development of High Performance Hybrid Rocket Fuels
Christopher Zaseck

Coupled Orbit-Attitude Dynamics in the Three-Body Problem: A Family of Orbit-Attitude Periodic Solutions
Davide Guzzetti

Read the Abstracts for April 21

View the 2014 Presentation Schedule
View All Abstracts for 2014

2014 Prizes

  • $500, $300, $200 for best three presentations
  • $150 for best undergraduate presentation
  • $150 for best abstract

The Research Symposium Series is a department-sponsored forum for graduate students and advanced-level undergraduates to present their research to a general audience. The Research Symposium Series is designed to:

  • Facilitate the exchange of ideas and knowledge among faculty and graduate students.
  • Provide opportunities for students to develop their technical presentation skills.
  • Promote the research activities of the department to undergraduates and other interested individuals.


Evaluation Forms

Tips for Making a Successful Abstract and Presentation

2014 Abstracts

2014 Student Judges

  • Dennis Berridge, Aerodynamics
  • Natasha Bosanac, Astrodynamics
  • Yu-Chi Su, Structures and Materials
  • Isaac Tetzloff, Aerospace Systems
  • Heather Wiest, Propulsion

Congratulations to the 2012-13 Research Symposium Series Winners!

Left to Right: Prof. Shih, Matt Steiner, Prof. Pourpoint, Blake Rogers, Prof. Longuski, Prof. Crossley, Nithya Subramanian, Prof. Howell, Natasha Bosanac, Amanda Haapala

  • Best Presentation - Nithya Subramanian "Parallel Genetic Algorithm with Population-Based Sampling Approach to Discrete Optimization Under Uncertainty"
  • Second Place Presentation - Natasha Bosanac "Exploring the Impact of an Additional Three-Body Interaction in the Restricted Three-Body Problem"
  • Third Place Presentation - Amanda Haapala "Trajectory Design in the Spatial Circular Restricted Three-Body Problem"
  • Best Abstract - Blake Rogers‚Äč "Design of Cycling Trajectories for Human Missions to Mars"
  • Best Undergraduate Presentation - Matt Steiner "The Design and Blowdown Test of the 900 lbf Purdue Hybrid Rocket"

A plaque commemorating the best presentation of each year is on display on the 3rd floor of Armstrong Hall. Previous winners are: 

  • Nithya Subramanian
    Parallel Genetic Algorithm with Population-Based Sampling Approach to Discrete Optimization Under Uncertainty (2012-2013)
  • Mar Vaquero
    Design of Transfer Trajectories Between Resonant Orbits in the Restricted Three-Body Problem (2011-2012)
  • Cody Short
    Lagrangian Coherent Structures in the Restricted Three-Body Problem (2010-2011)
  • Katya Casper
    Hypersonic Wind-Tunnel Measurements of Boundary-Layer Pressure Fluctuations (2009-2010)
  • Joseph Gangestad
    The Dynamics of Lorentz Spacecraft with Application to a Mission to Enceladus (2008-2009)
  • Lindsay Millard
    Control of Spacecraft Imaging Arrays in Multi-Body Regimes (2007-2008)
  • Matthew Churchfield
    Numerical Computations of a Wingtip Vortex in the Near Field (2006-2007)
  • Arun Subramaniyan
    Toughening Polymeric Composites using Nanoclay (2005-2006)
  • Tyler Robarge
    Computations of Mean Flows and Instabilities on Axisymmetric Blunt Cones at Hypersonic Speeds (2004-2005)
  • Fong Loon Pan
    The Use of Integral Methods in Computational Aeroacoustics (2003-2004)
  • Ali Uzun
    3-D Large Eddy Simulation for Jet Noise Prediction (2002-2003)

Contact Information

Questions about the 2013-2014 Research Symposium Series may be directed to The RSS Team (aaerss@ecn.purdue.edu)