2020-21 Engineering Graduate Program Awards

Each spring, the College of Engineering recognizes the outstanding accomplishments of our graduate students and postdocs through several prestigious awards. Graduate students also select an outstanding faculty mentor who has gone above and beyond to serve the graduate students in their program.

Please take a couple minutes to watch this video from Dr. Dana Weinstein, Associate Dean of Graduate Education, as she congratulates this year’s awardees:

Awards include:
  • Magoon Excellence in Teaching Award
  • Outstanding Graduate Research Award
  • Outstanding Graduate Service Scholarship
  • Outstanding Postdoctoral Researcher Award
  • Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award

The Purdue University College of Engineering Magoon Awards are given to outstanding teaching assistants and instructors in memory of Estus H. and Vashti L. Magoon, who have influenced the lives of many engineering educators through this award. The award is made possible through the generous Estus H. and Vashti L. Magoon endowment, and the recipients each receive $2,000 and a certificate. This year's IE awardees are Cansu Agrali, Yan Chen, Esmaeil Bahalkeh, and Hamed Asadi.


The Purdue University College of Engineering Outstanding Service Scholarship Award recognizes the engineering graduate students who provide outstanding service to the graduate student community, the School, the College, and/or the University. Each School nominates one student, and he or she each receives $2,000 and a certificate. This year's IE recipient is Maithilee Motlag.

The Outstanding Research Award goes to students who have demonstrated excellence and leadership in research through publications, participation in professional organizations, and willingness to mentor others. The IE recipient of this year's award, worth $2,000 and a certificate, is Rouxing Wang.

Finally, the graduate students in each School select an Outstanding Faculty Mentor to recognize his or her exceptional mentoring of engineering graduate students. These professors receive an engraved plaque with a personal tribute composed by the students. The graduate students chose Professor Gary Cheng as the IE faculty members to receive this year's award.

Please join us in congratulating all of this year’s recipients for their hard work and dedication to the graduate education community. If you see someone you know on the list, be sure to tell them “Great job & well deserved!”

To see a complete list of current and past award recipients, please visit the CoE Graduate Education Program Awards page.

The full College announcement with awardees from other schools can be seen at the event page.