Transportation Engineering News & Events

Carmel wins bid to host 2011 National Roundabout Conference
Posted: January 16, 2009
The conference is designed to provide a forum for the exchange of technical and administrative information concerning aspects of roundabouts with the goal to inform a large audience about the science and application of roundabouts.
Prof. Kumares Sinha elected to National Academy of Engineering
Posted: February 12, 2008
Congratulations to Prof. Sinha, recently elected to the National Academy of Engineering for his contributions to transportation engineering.
Yes, Accidents Happen. But Why?
Posted: October 24, 2007
Prof. Fred Mannering has been featured in a New York Times article about the cause of traffic collisions.
Graduate student selected for 'Eno Fellows' Class of 2007
Posted: April 25, 2007
Sarah M. Hubbard, graduate student, was recently selected by the Eno Transportation Foundation for the ‘Eno Fellows’ Class of 2007, a group of exceptionally promising graduate and doctoral students who plan to pursue careers in transportation. Eno Fellows are invited to participate in the Foundation’s Leadership Development Conference (LDC), an intensive week-long professional development program held each spring in Washington, D.C.
Graduate student receives National Tau Beta Pi Fellowship
Posted: April 10, 2007
Kevin M. Ford, incoming graduate student, receives fellowship award from National Tau Beta Pi Fellowship program.
Distinguished Professor appointed to Blue Ribbon Panel of Experts
Posted: March 30, 2007
Professor Kumares C. Sinha, Olson Distinguished Professor of Civil Engineering, has been appointed to serve on a Blue Ribbon Panel of Experts for the National Surface Transportation Policy and Revenue Commission created by Congress.
Professor Kumares C. Sinha leads team to India
Posted: March 9, 2007
A team of six traveled to India on a World Bank mission to review and make recommendations for the planning, design and construction aspects of national highway development program in India.
CE students receive transportation scholarship awards
Posted: March 8, 2007
Andrzej M. Kwasniak, Anuj Sharma and Joshua Zvolanek are the 2007/2008 recipients of the ITE Indiana Section E.J. Cox Memorial Transportation Scholarship Award.
Airbags, antilock brakes not likely to reduce accidents, injuries
Posted: February 7, 2007
Researchers have determined that airbags and antilock braking systems do not reduce the likelihood of accidents or injuries because they may encourage more aggressive driving, thwarting the potential benefits of such safety features. Professor Fred L. Mannering states that these findings can contribute to improving advanced safety features.
Professor receives Bryant Mather Award
Posted: February 5, 2007
The Transportation Research Board of the National Academies awarded Chuanxin Fang, Ph.D. 2003, and Assistant Professor Samuel Labi the Concrete Materials Section Bryant Mather Award for their research paper titled "Evaluating the Static Segregation Resistance of Hardened Self-Consolidating Concrete Using Image Processing Technology."

<< First < Previous Page 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 of 8 Next > Last >>