Specialty Groups

To facilitate the management of our approximately 400 graduate students, the Civil Engineering Graduate Program is subdivided into the following 9 areas.

  • Architectural Engineering
  • Construction Engineering
  • Environmental Engineering
  • Geomatics Engineering
  • Geotechnical Engineering
  • Hydraulic and Hydrologic Engineering
  • Materials Engineering
  • Structural Engineering
  • Transportation and Infrastructure Systems Engineering

Opportunities for interdisciplinary study in a number of related areas are also available. A Professional Masters concentration is also available: Civil Engineering – Leadership, Entrepreneurship, Management (CE-LEM)

Should a student wish to change specialty group, s/he should identify a faculty member in the new area willing to act as primary advisor.  The student should then obtain a “Change of Area” form from the CE Graduate Office and obtain the required signatures.