Agricultural & Biological Engineering - Purdue University


AAAE is dedicated to studying, applying, and promoting the teaching and learning processes in agriculture.
ABE Professor Monika Ivantysynova is one of three winners of the Purdue Morrill Award. This is the fifth year of the Morrill Award, initiated to honor the Morrill Act of 1862, which allowed for the establishment of land-grant colleges and universities. The award comes with a $30,000 prize, which may be used as discretionary funds or salary supplements.
Dan, the Assistant to Department Head Bernie Engel, won the Service to Students in the College of Agriculture award, and the inaugural Student Choice Award for student club adviser.
"Hort Plants", an app Dr. Saraswat co-developed with Dr. Jim Robbins of the University of Arkansas has been selected for the award.
Dr. Chaubey, Professor of Agricultural & Biological Engineering and Department Head of Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences was honored on Friday, April 8.
Margaret Kalcic (MS 2010, PhD 2014), Rebecca Logsdon Muenich (MS 2011, PhD 2015), and Chelsie Boles (BS 2011, MS 2013) are part of the team that wrote the study report. Their findings have been submitted to a peer-reviewed scientific journal for publication.
DiscoverE presents this award to honor up-and-coming engineers (under 30 years old), who are making their mark on their industry. This highly coveted award is recognized as a top honor for young engineers by their peers in the engineering community.
University Faculty Scholars is a recognition of select associate and full professors who have been in that rank for no more than five years and are on an accelerated path for academic distinction in the discovery and dissemination of knowledge.
The winners were announced at the industry event held at the Indiana Roof Ballroom.
Congratulations to Bernie Engel, Department Head, the ABE faculty, staff, and graduate students for the recognition of program excellence!
We are delighted to announce the Distinguished Agriculture Alumni Award recipients for 2016. The Distinguished Agriculture Alumni Award recognizes mid-career Purdue Agriculture alumni who have demonstrated outstanding accomplishments, made significant contributions to their professions or to society in general and exhibit high potential for future professional growth.
Klein Ileleji, Agricultural and Biological Engineering, and Aaron Patton, Horticulture and Landscape Architecture, are among eight Purdue faculty members named Scholarship of Engagement Fellows by the Office of Engagement.
Southern Region-American Society for Horticultural Science during its 2016 annual meeting at San Antonio, TX on February 5-7 awarded “Blue Ribbon Extension Communication Award” to Prof. (s) Dharmendra Saraswat, ABE associate professor and Jim Robbins, commercial ornamental plants specialist from the University of Arkansas Cooperative Extension Service.
Professors Indrajeet Chaubey and Klein Ileleji are on this year's ballot.
Based on the success of the PUP (Practical Utility Platform), Dr. Lumkes has helped the Makerere University Agricultural Research Institute develop their own version of the vehicle.
The Colleges of Engineering and Science have awarded the Violet B. Haas Fellowship in support of her research program on green infrastructure in urban watersheds.
The award honors farmers age 35 or younger who earn a majority of their income from their farms. Contestants are judged on their achievements in their farming operation and their commitment to their communities.
Dharmendra Saraswat, associate professor, was honored by Arkansas Natural Resources Commission (ANRC) and Public Policy Center of University of Arkansas Division of Agriculture for his contributions to the state's nonpoint source (NPS) pollution management program at the 2015 ANRC NPS stakeholder meeting on Wednesday, September 23.
Dr. Keener, Food Science and Agricultural & Biological Engineering, has received the Purdue College of Agriculture's Spirit of the Land Grant Mission Award
The Purdue Research Foundation-managed Trask Innovation Fund (TIF) is a Purdue University development mechanism to assist faculty with work to further commercial potential of technologies disclosed to the Office of Technology Commercialization (OTC). Funds are awarded under the advisement of the TIF Advisory Council, which consists of representatives from the Purdue University Office of the Vice President for Research, Purdue Faculty, Purdue Research Foundation, and local business community.
Forty-five percent of the presentations in the NRES sessions at the ASABE Annual International Meeting were given by students.
This competition encourages agricultural engineers in industry and public service (not limited to ASABE members) to strive for excellence in extension activities through the interchange of ideas on successful methods and techniques. It also promotes excellence in educational aids, which represent agricultural engineering and through the exchange of ideas and individual recognition, contributes to overall improvement in the use of educational aids.
Nathan Mosier, Agricultural and Biological Engineering, is the recipient of the 2015 Agricultural Research Award.
Professor Michael Ladisch, distinguished professor and director, leads the team including Eduardo Ximines, Kirk Foster, Seockmo Ku, Amanda Deering, and Thomas Kreke.
The Universities Council on Water Resources held their 2015 Awards Banquet at Green Valley Ranch Resort in Henderson, Nevada, during their conference "Water Is Not for Gambling: Utilizing Science to Reduce Uncertainty" June 16-18, 2015.
Congratulations to the PICS team for their award from the Purdue Office of Engagement on May 13, 2015.
Monika Ivantysynova, the Maha Fluid Power Systems Professor in the School of Mechanical Engineering, has been elected as a fellow of ASME, the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
The research award is given to a faculty member whose research has influenced a student's passion within that field of study. Read more in The Exponent.
The Robert E. Koski Medal, established in 2007, recognizes individuals who have advanced the art and practice of fluid power motion and control through education and/or innovation. It is awarded by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME).