AAE Professor Karen Marais inducted into Purdue Book of Great Teachers

Author: Alan Cesar
This ceremony recognizing Purdue's finest educators is held once every five years.

At the Celebration of Teaching Excellence ceremony on Tuesday, Sept. 19, AAE professor Karen Marais was added to Purdue’s Book of Great Teachers — a recognition of Purdue’s finest educators. The book bears the name of 467 Purdue faculty members added since the book was started in 1999.

Marais’ name entering the book was presaged when she received Purdue’s Murphy Award in 2021. The Charles B. Murphy Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award is the university’s highest honor for undergraduate teaching, and it comes with automatic inclusion in the Book of Great Teachers at the next induction ceremony.

The Office of the Provost hosts an induction ceremony and adds new names once every five years.

Marais receiving the Book of Great Teachers award

Marais, who is also the associate head for undergraduate education in Aeronautics and Astronautics, is one of 12 total AAE faculty named in this book. The others are:

  • Steven Collicott
  • Stephen Heister
  • Henry T. Yang
  • Gregory Blaisdell
  • Elmer F. Bruhn
  • W.A. Gustafson
  • Kathleen Howell
  • Severino Koh
  • James Longuski
  • C.T. Sun
  • William Crossley

A total of 38 faculty from across Purdue were added this year. The Book of Great Teachers is on permanent display in the west foyer of the Purdue Memorial Union.

Publish date: September 28, 2023
Author: Alan Cesar