IEGSO Research Symposium

The Purdue Industrial Engineering Graduate Student Organization (IEGSO) held its annual Research Symposium on April 21 in Grissom Hall. The symposium included a graduate student poster competition and a panel discussion with two IE alumni.

Thirteen IE graduate students entered posters and presented them to faculty, fellow students, and Industrial Engineering Advisory Council members from 1:00-2:30 p.m. At 2:30 p.m., everyone adjourned to Grissom 134 for a panel discussion with two Outstanding Purdue Alumni, Rich Redelfs and Dr. Richard Koubek. Redelfs is a General Partner with Foundation Capital, a co-founder of the Wi-Fi Alliance at 3Com, and an investor in the fields of semiconductors, networking and security. Along with a BSIE from Purdue, he holds an MBA from the Harvard Business School. Koubek is Executive VP and Provost of Louisiana State University, a former IE Professor at Purdue and Penn State, holds several prestigious teaching awards including the (Purdue) Pritsker Outstanding Teaching Award, and earned both an MS and PhD from Purdue IE. They discussed the impact of their IE experience at Purdue in their career and the decision they made along their way to success.

After the panel discussion, IE GSO vice president Sara Shashaani presented prizes for the top three posters:

  • 1st prize – Maru Cabrera, for "Analysis of Mentor Interaction in Telementoring Systems Applied in Surgery"
  • 2nd prize – Gaurav Nanda, for "Bayesian Decision Support for Coding Occupational Injury Data"
  • 3rd prize – Michelle Jahn, for "Improving Patient – Provider Communication for Medications via Health Information Technology

The Peer Choice Award selected by the competitors themselves was Ruoxing Wang for her poster on "Bio-Degradable Triboelectric Nanogenerators Derived from Natural Materials for Self-Powered Implantable Medical Devices". Congratulations, grad students!


(l) Poster award winners Cabrera, Nanda, Jahn & Wang; (r) Sara Shashaani, Maru Cabrera (1st Prize) & Rich Redelfs


(l) Shashaani, Gaurav Nanda (2nd Prize) & Richard Koubek; (r) Shashaani, Michelle Jahn (3rd prize) & Redelfs  

Ruoxing Wang - Peer Choice Award

Writer & Photographer: DeEtte Starr,