Engineering Education Directory - by Administrative Area

Faculty

David Radcliffe
Kamyar Haghighi Head of the School of Engineering Education
Epistemology Professor of Engineering Education
Research: The nature of engineering as a profession; how it perceived and practiced, how it is learned especially outside the classroom, and how an engineering identity is shaped. The design of creative learning places and of ways to foster distributed communities of research practice in engineering education.
Faculty dradcliffe@purdue.edu
Robin Adams
Associate Professor
Research: Investigation of engineering practice: (1) cross-disciplinary ways of thinking, acting, and being; (2) design knowing and learning; and (3) the everyday nature of engineering thinking (at home, in school, at work). Creating "systems" bridges between education research and the practice of engineering education: (1) cross-disciplinary communities; (2) research-based instructional resources; and (3) translating research methods into pedagogical methods
Faculty rsadams@purdue.edu
Gary Bertoline
Dean, College of Technology
Courtesy Faculty of Engineering Education
Faculty bertoline@purdue.edu
George Bodner
Arthur Kelly Distinguished Professor, Chemical Education
Courtesy Faculty of Engineering Education
Faculty gmbodner@purdue.edu
Sean Brophy
Associate Professor
Research: Development of effective learning environments that develop adaptive expertise. This research focuses on the mechanisms and knowledge to comprehend, analyze, troubleshoot and design complex systems, exploring how these mechanisms mature and how we can foster developing these abilities through learning activities that use simulations, analogical reasoning, and model construction/evaluation.
Faculty sbrophy@purdue.edu
Cordelia Brown
Assistant Professor
Research: Assessment of learning engineering; digital system design and fault tolerant systems; recruitment and retention initiatives in STEM disciplines.
Faculty brown83@purdue.edu
Patrice Buzzanell
Professor of Communication, Courtesy Faculty in Engineering Education
Faculty buzzanel@purdue.edu
Brenda Capobianco
Associate Professor, Science Education, Department of Curriculum and Instruction; Affiliated Faculty in Women's Studies; Courtesy Faculty of Engineering Education
Faculty bcapo@purdue.edu
Monica Cardella
Associate Professor
Research: Characterization of mathematical thinking practices, responses to ambiguity and uncertainty, and overall design behavior of undergraduate engineering students, practicing engineers, and young children. Investigation of parents' role in pre-kindergarten through 5th grade engineering education.
Faculty cardella@purdue.edu
Monica Cox
Associate Professor
Research: Development and validation of assessment tools within K-12, undergraduate, and graduate engineering education; assessment of engineering doctoral education; undergraduate and graduate students' acquisition of engineering norms, skills, and attributes within academia and industry; assessment of pedagogy within engineering classrooms and laboratories
Faculty mfc@purdue.edu
Heidi Diefes-Dux
Professor
Research: Development, classroom implementation, and authentic assessment of student work on engineering-based, client-driven, open-ended mathematical modeling activities, with particular emphasis on first-year engineering and elementary students. Elementary teacher professional development with engineering thinking, engineering design, and mathematical modeling.
Faculty hdiefes@purdue.edu
Nathalie Duval-Couetil
Associate Professor of Technology, Leadership, and Innovation; Director, Certificate in Entrepreneurship and Innovation Program; Associate Director, Burton D. Morgan Center for Entrepreneurship; Courtesy Faculty of Engineering Education
Research: Multidisciplinary entrepreneurship education; Environments and conditions that foster entrepreneurial activity among students; Educational program evaluation and assessment; Women and leadership; Market and technology assessment
Faculty natduval@purdue.edu
Audeen Fentiman
Associate Dean of Graduate Education and Interdisciplinary Programs
Professor of Nuclear Engineering
Courtesy Faculty of Engineering Education
Faculty fentiman@purdue.edu
William Graziano
Professor of Psychology Sciences
Courtesy Faculty
Faculty graziano@purdue.edu
Dale Harris
Professor
Executive Director, Engineering Professional Education
Faculty harris@purdue.edu
Morgan Hynes
Assistant Professor
Faculty morganhynes@purdue.edu
Leah Jamieson
Dean of Engineering, Courtesy Faculty of Engineering Education
Faculty lhj@purdue.edu
Brent Jesiek
Assistant Professor
Research: History and social studies of engineering, engineering education, and computing; Engineering epistemologies; Global engineering education; Open source software and hardware; History of embedded devices and systems; Software and hardware development methodologies.
Faculty bjesiek@purdue.edu
Krishna Madhavan
Assistant Professor
Research: Focuses broadly on cyberinfrastructure for engineering education research, cyberlearning, virtual and immersive environments, and large-scale data mining tools for engineering education research
Faculty cm@purdue.edu
Alejandra Magana Deleon
Assistant Professor of Computer and Information Technology
Courtesy Faculty
Faculty admagana@purdue.edu
Joyce Main
Assistant Professor
Research: Student persistence and outcomes; advising and mentoring; women in science and engineering; global engineering; social stratification; higher education; education policy
Faculty jmain@purdue.edu
Tamara Moore
Associate Professor
Faculty tamara@purdue.edu
William Oakes
Professor
Courtesy Faculty in Curriculum and Instruction
Director of EPICS
Faculty oakes@purdue.edu
Matthew Ohland
Professor
Research: Student pathways, success, and institutional policy (using longitudinal data from 1,000,000+ students). Team-member effectiveness, learning, and social relations investigated using peer evaluations of over 60,000 students. Effect of team formation strategies on individuals and teams.
Faculty ohland@purdue.edu
Alice Pawley
Associate Professor
Research: Use of qualitative methods to investigate engineering epistemology, engineering identity, and boundary work to understand better how to make engineering an inclusive discipline. Crossing the boundaries of engineering education, science and technology studies, and women's studies, this research focuses on how, what, and why we (engineers and engineering educators) understand engineering to be.
Faculty apawley@purdue.edu
Mary Pilotte
Associate Professor of Engineering Practice
Faculty mpilotte@purdue.edu
Senay Purzer
Assistant Professor
Research: How self-efficacy beliefs affect individual student achievement during teamwork. Argumentation in engineering design. P-12 engineering education.
Faculty senay@purdue.edu
Karl Smith
Cooperative Learning Professor (Part-Time)
Morse-Alumni Distinguished Teaching Professor and Emeritus Professor of Civil Engineering, University of Minnesota
Research: Building rigorous research capabilities in engineering education. The role of cooperation in learning and design. Problem formulation, modeling, and knowledge engineering. Project and knowledge management and leadership.
Faculty smith511@purdue.edu
Ruth Streveler
Associate Professor
Research: Difficult concepts in engineering science. Specific research questions are: What concepts are difficult to learn? How does one measure conceptual understanding? Why are some concepts difficult to learn? How can one construct learning environments that help people learn these difficult concepts?
Faculty streveler@purdue.edu
Phillip Wankat
Clifton L. Lovell Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering and Engineering Education
Director of Engineering Education Undergraduate Degree Programs
Faculty wankat@purdue.edu

Postdoctoral Professionals

Kacey Beddoes
Postdoctoral Professional
C/S Staff kbeddoes@purdue.edu
Kerrie Douglas
Postdoctoral Professional
Graduate Student douglask@purdue.edu
Daniel Ferguson
Postdoctoral Professional
Graduate Student dfergus@purdue.edu
Isabel Jimenez-Useche
Post Doc Research Assistant
Graduate Student ijimenez@purdue.edu
Daphne Wiles
Postdoctoral Professional
Graduate Staff dwiles@purdue.edu

Academic Advisors

Billi Jennings
Director of First-Year Engineering Advising
A/P Staff billi@purdue.edu
Paul Birkhimer
Senior Academic Advisor
A/P Staff pbirkhimer@purdue.edu
Jeffrey Myers
Academic Advisor
A/P Staff myers182@purdue.edu
Christine Pekny
Interdisciplinary Engineering Program Advisor
A/P Staff cpekny@purdue.edu
Adam Polacek
Academic Advisor
A/P Staff apolacek@purdue.edu
Rose Redington
Academic Advisor
A/P Staff sredingt@purdue.edu
Nathan Thomas
Academic Advisor
A/P Staff thoma322@purdue.edu
Dafran Ware
Assistant Director of First-Year Engineering Advising
A/P Staff ware6@purdue.edu

Professional Staff

Rebecca Fry
Director of Development
A/P Staff rlfry@purdue.edu
Elizabeth Gajdzik
Assistant Director, INSPIRE
A/P Staff egajdzik@purdue.edu
Cindey Hays
Administrative Assistant to the Head
C/S Staff isenberg@purdue.edu
Lynn Hegewald
Instructional Support Coordinator
Graduate Student A/P Staff hegewald@purdue.edu
Stephen Hoffmann
Assistant Head for First-Year Engineering
A/P Staff srh@purdue.edu
Jeffrey Huddleston
Artisan and Fabrication Lab Supervisor
A/P Staff jwhuddle@purdue.edu
Patrick La Petina
Instructional Support Coordinator
A/P Staff lapetina@purdue.edu
Michael Loizzo
Communications Director
A/P Staff mloizzo@purdue.edu
Russell Long
Director of Project Assessment
A/P Staff ralong@purdue.edu
Mary Sanger
Research Data And Community Coordinator
A/P Staff mtsanger@purdue.edu
Gordon Skiles
Systems/Programming Coordinator
A/P Staff skiles@purdue.edu
Michele Strutz
Visiting Instructor
Graduate Student mstrutz@purdue.edu
James Whitford
Instructional Support Manager
A/P Staff jwhitford@purdue.edu
Kathleen Wible
Visiting Instructor
  wible@purdue.edu
Richard Womack
Instructional Support Specialist
A/P Staff rwomack@purdue.edu

Business Office Staff

Rustie Bodine
Account Clerk V
C/S Staff rbodine@purdue.edu
Araminta Brooks
Business Manager, Ene/Wiep/Mep
A/P Staff brooks8@purdue.edu
Ethan Chitty
Account Clerk IV
Graduate Student C/S Staff echitty@purdue.edu
Christine Cowden
Account Clerk V
C/S Staff cowden@purdue.edu
Lynly Horine
Account Assistant: Sponsored Program Account Management
C/S Staff lhorine@purdue.edu
Shannel Randle
Account Clerk V: Monthly Payroll, Non-Sponsored Account Management
C/S Staff srandle@purdue.edu

Clerical Staff

Tamara Hare
Secretary V
C/S Staff thare@purdue.edu
Loretta Mckinniss
Secretary V
C/S Staff lmckinni@purdue.edu
Carlene Quirk
Secretary IV
C/S Staff quirkc@purdue.edu
Jennifer Redden
Administrative Assistant - First-Year Engineering
C/S Staff jredden@purdue.edu
Julie Russell
Secretary V
C/S Staff russel17@purdue.edu
Marsha Schluttenhofer
Secretary V
C/S Staff mschlutt@purdue.edu

Graduate Students

Benjamin Ahn
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Monica Cox
Graduate Student Graduate Staff bahn@purdue.edu
Hadi Ali
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Robin Adams
Graduate Student Graduate Staff hwali@purdue.edu
Catherine Berdanier
Graduate Student
Graduate Student cberdanier@purdue.edu
Paul Branham
Graduate Student
Graduate Student Graduate Staff pab@purdue.edu
Brianna Brinkman
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Monica Cardella
Graduate Student Graduate Staff bdorie@purdue.edu
Mark Carnes
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Heidi Diefes-Dux
Graduate Student carnesm@purdue.edu
James Cawthorne
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Ruth Streveler
Graduate Student jcawthor@purdue.edu
Xin Chen
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Krishna Madhavan
Graduate Student Graduate Staff chen654@purdue.edu
Xingyu Chen
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Matthew Ohland
Graduate Student Graduate Staff chen414@purdue.edu
Neha Choudhary
Graduate Student
Graduate Student Graduate Staff neha04@purdue.edu
Mallory Chua
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Robin Adams
Graduate Student Graduate Staff mel@purdue.edu
Antonette Cummings
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: William Oakes
Graduate Student Graduate Staff cumming3@purdue.edu
Dana Denick
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Ruth Streveler
Graduate Student Graduate Staff ddenick@purdue.edu
Emily Dringenberg
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Senay Purzer
Graduate Student edringen@purdue.edu
Sergey Dubikovsky
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Matthew Ohland
Graduate Student Faculty sdubikov@purdue.edu
Farrah Fayyaz
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Ruth Streveler
Graduate Student ffayyaz@purdue.edu
Nick Fila
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Senay Purzer
Graduate Student Graduate Staff nfila@purdue.edu
Velvet Fitzpatrick
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Teri Reed-Rhoads
Graduate Student Graduate Staff vfitzpat@purdue.edu
Trina Fletcher
Graduate Student
Graduate Student trinaf@purdue.edu
Tiago Forin
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Robin Adams
Graduate Student Graduate Staff tforin@purdue.edu
Molly Goldstein
Graduate Student
Graduate Student Graduate Staff goldstm@purdue.edu
Yu Gong
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Brent Jesiek
Graduate Student Graduate Staff yugong@purdue.edu
Leslie Grundman
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Sean Brophy
Graduate Student lgrundma@purdue.edu
Oguz Hanoglu
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: P.K. Imbrie, Sean Brophy
Graduate Student Graduate Staff ohanoglu@purdue.edu
Justin Hess
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Johannes Strobel
Graduate Student jhess@purdue.edu
Ming-Chien Hsu
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Monica Cardella
Graduate Student Graduate Staff mhsu@purdue.edu
James Huff
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: William Oakes
Graduate Student huff2@purdue.edu
Tamecia Jones
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Monica Cardella
Graduate Student Graduate Staff tameciajones@purdue.edu
Cole Joslyn
Graduate Student
Graduate Student joslyn@purdue.edu
Jeremi London
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Monica Cox
Graduate Student Graduate Staff jslondon@purdue.edu
Anne Lucietto
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Matt Ohland
Graduate Student Graduate Staff lucietto@purdue.edu
Farshid Marbouti
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Johannes Strobel
Graduate Student Graduate Staff farshid@purdue.edu
Corey Mathis
Graduate Student
Graduate Student Graduate Staff mathisc@purdue.edu
Paul Mathis
Graduate Student
Graduate Student Graduate Staff pmathis@purdue.edu
Andrea Mazzurco
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Brent Jesiek
Graduate Student Graduate Staff amazzurc@purdue.edu
Jacqueline McNeil
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Matt Ohland
Graduate Student Graduate Staff busheyMcNeil@purdue.edu
Roy Melton
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: William Oakes
Graduate Student rbmelton@purdue.edu
John Mendoza Garcia
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: William Oakes Monica Cardella
Graduate Student Graduate Staff mendozag@purdue.edu
Marisol Mercado Santiago
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Alice Pawley
Graduate Student msantiago16@purdue.edu
Joi-Lynn Mondisa
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Robin Adams
Graduate Student Graduate Staff jmondisa@purdue.edu
Sadia Nawaz
Graduate Student
Graduate Student sadia@purdue.edu
Lindsey Nelson
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Alice Pawley
Graduate Student lnelson@purdue.edu
Rui Pan
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Johannes Strobel
Graduate Student panr@purdue.edu
Natasha Perova
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Ruth Streveler
Graduate Student Graduate Staff nperova@purdue.edu
Canek Phillips
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Alice Pawley
Graduate Student Graduate Staff philli70@purdue.edu
Nicole Pitterson
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Ruth Streveler
Graduate Student Graduate Staff npitters@purdue.edu
Meagan Pollock
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Monica Cardella
Graduate Student meaganpollock@purdue.edu
Francesca Polo
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Alejandra Magana, Robin Adams
Graduate Student Graduate Staff fpolo@purdue.edu
Nichole Ramirez
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Matthew Ohland
  nramire@purdue.edu
Kelsey Rodgers
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Heidi Diefes-Dux
Graduate Student Graduate Staff kelseyjoy@purdue.edu
Anastasia Rynearson
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Heidi Diefes-Dux
Graduate Student Graduate Staff arynears@purdue.edu
Lee Rynearson
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Heidi Diefes-Dux
Graduate Student Graduate Staff lrynears@purdue.edu
Noah Salzman
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Matthew Ohland
Graduate Student Graduate Staff nsalzman@purdue.edu
Nikitha Sambamurthy
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Monica Cox
Graduate Student Graduate Staff snikitha@purdue.edu
Corey Schimpf
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Alice Pawley
Graduate Student Graduate Staff cschimpf@purdue.edu
Junaid Siddiqui
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Robin Adams
Graduate Student Graduate Staff junaid@purdue.edu
Emilie Siverling
Graduate Student
Graduate Student Graduate Staff esiverli@purdue.edu
Mariana Tafur Arciniegas
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Johannes Strobel
Graduate Student Graduate Staff mtafurar@purdue.edu
Julia Thompson
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Brent Jesiek
Graduate Student Graduate Staff thomps87@purdue.edu
DeLean Tolbert
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Monica Cardella
Graduate Student Graduate Staff dtolber@purdue.edu
Natascha Trellinger
Graduate Student
Graduate Student ntrellin@purdue.edu
Amy Van Epps
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Johannes Strobel
Graduate Student Faculty vanepa@purdue.edu
Ruth Wertz
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Senay Purzer
Graduate Student rwertz@purdue.edu
Jacob Wheadon
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Nathalie Duval-Couetil
Graduate Student Graduate Staff jwheadon@purdue.edu
Michele Yatchmeneff
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Alice Pawley
Graduate Student myatchme@purdue.edu
Tasha Zephirin
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Monica Cox
Graduate Student Graduate Staff tkzeph@purdue.edu
Qin Zhu
Graduate Student
Advisor/Major Professor: Brent Jesiek
Graduate Student Graduate Staff qinzhu@purdue.edu

Student Advisors

Julia Feldman
Student Clerical - Fye Advisor
Undergraduate Student jfeldman@purdue.edu
Sadie Holbert
Student Service
Undergraduate Student sholbert@purdue.edu
Kristofer Miller
Student Service
Undergraduate Student mille471@purdue.edu
Savinay Nangalia
Student Service - Stud Serv
Undergraduate Student snangali@purdue.edu
Aiman Nawari
Student Service
Undergraduate Student anawari@purdue.edu
Kelly Patsavas
Student Service
Undergraduate Student kpatsava@purdue.edu
Keelee Roggenbuck
Student Service - Ce Stdnt Svc
Undergraduate Student kroggenb@purdue.edu