Professors Nies inducted into Book of Great Teachers

Larry Nies has been selected to be inducted into The Book of Great Teachers. The induction ceremony was held December 3, 2013 in the South Ballroom of the Purdue Memorial Union.

The Book of Great Teachers, a permanent wall display in the west foyer of the Purdue Memorial Union, was first unveiled in 1999. The book bears the names of past and present faculty members who have devoted their lives to excellence in teaching and scholarship. Honorees include past recipients of universitywide teaching excellence awards and those nominated by students, alumni and colleagues.  The nomination process for the book occurs every five years.  Prior to this year, the last ceremony was held in 2008, when 49 faculty members were added to the book.

To be eligible for nomination, professors and former professors on the West Lafayette campus must have served on the Purdue faculty for at least 15 years. Professors on the West Lafayette campus with 10 years of service to the University who have been previously honored with the Charles B. Murphy Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award and 10 years of service, or recognized as Indiana Professor of the Year, or those named by the trustees as distinguished professors for teaching, are automatically included in the book.

Related Link: