Tomar selected as W.A. Gustafson Award winner

AAE juniors and seniors selected Professor Vikas Tomar for the W.A. Gustafson Award, presented annually to an outstanding teacher in AAE.

Professor Vikas Tomar has been selected as the W.A. Gustafson Award winner by AAE juniors and seniors.

Vikas Tomar

Tomar, who joined AAE faculty in 2009, taught undergraduates in AAE352, “Structure Analysis I,” in Fall 2019.

The Gustafson Award is presented annually to an outstanding teacher in AAE. Gus Gustafson was a faculty member in AAE from 1960-98 and had a distinguished career of teaching and service to the School, including serving as associate head and undergraduate counselor from 1981-98.

“I am grateful to students recognizing hard work put in by me, TAs, and graders in delivering a high quality instructional course," Tomar said.

The past two Gustafson Award winners (Waterloo Tsutsui and Jonathan Poggie) were not eligible for selection in 2019. Karen Marais, an associate professor and associate head for undergraduate education; James Goppert, a visiting assistant professor; and Sergey Macheret, a professor, also received votes in 2019 for excellence in teaching by juniors and seniors.