President Mung Chiang and Alumnus Vivek Agarwal Recognized with AAEOY Awards

Purdue University President, Mung Chiang, and School of Nuclear Engineering alumnus, Vivek Agarwal, were recognized with 2023 Asian American Engineer of the Year (AAEOY) Awards!

As part of the National Engineers Week, the Asian American Engineer of the Year (AAEOY) was first introduced in 2002, as a national recognition event. This annual event was created to honor the most distinguished Asian-American and international professionals for their leadership, technical achievements, and remarkable public services. Atop of recognizing these outstanding engineers and scientists, AAEOY also grants special distinguished awards to honor and celebrate achievements for global stature and influence. 

President Mung Chiang was awarded the Distinguished Leadership in Science and Technology award, along with two other awardees.

Dr. Chiang became the president of Purdue University beginning on January 1, 2023 and formerly served as the John A. Edwardson Dean of the College of Engineering for nearly five years. During Chiang’s tenure as the Dean of Engineering, he led the college to its first back-to-back top 4 graduate rankings in the U.S. while growing it to be the largest top 10 undergraduate engineering college in the country. 

Dr. Vivek Agarwal was awarded the Asian-American Most Promising Engineer of the Year Award alongside two additional awardees.

Agrawal received his PhD from Purdue University’s School of Nuclear Engineering in 2011. After being awarded his degree, Dr. Agarwal joined the Idaho National Laboratory to continue his research, where he has risen to a Distinguished Staff Scientist as a testament of his work excellence. 

Dr. Agarwal received several awards during and after his time at the School of Nuclear Engineering, including first prize for his research poster presented at the Advanced Manufacturing Summit-VII in 2008 and the PECASE award, bestowed by the United States Government in 2019.


To learn more about the 2023 AAEOY Awards, please visit:

To view all 2023 AAEOY Awards, please visit: