ANS Technical Achievement Award

Dr. Shripad T. Revankar received the Thermal Hydraulics Division Technical Achievement Award from the American Nuclear Society (ANS) for the year 2019.

This award is the highest accolade given by the ANS Thermal Hydraulics Division (THD). It is presented annually to a member of the THD in recognition of outstanding past or current technical achievement. It is based on a major contribution to the state of the art, an important publication, a major technical achievement, or a sustained record of accomplishment and technical excellence in the art or science of Thermal hydraulics. Dr. Revankar, ANS Fellow and member since 1988, was selected for his technical contributions over three decades in thermal hydraulics and reactor safety.

Dr. Revankar was presented with the 2019 ANS Technical Achievement Award in a ceremony during the Thermal Hydraulics Division Special Technical Session at ANS Winter Meeting and Expo November 18, 2019 in Washington DC. A plaque celebrated him with these words, "For his significant contributions to reactor thermal hydraulics through experiments, and for the modeling of phenomena important in the analysis of nuclear reactor safety and applications.” 

The award recipient must be recommended by a previous recipient with a minimum of three other letters of support. Dr. Revankar was humbled to learn six previous recipients had written letters in support of his accomplishments in addition to his original nomination. “I have worked in this field for a long time, since 1984, so I was happy to be recognized in this way,” said Dr. Revankar.

Previous recipients from Purdue University include Mamoru Ishii, the Walter Zinn Distinguished Professor of Nuclear Engineering, in 1989 and Victor Ransom, Professor Emeritus and former Department Head of Nuclear Engineering, in 1999.